h1

Pumpkinpalooza

November 3, 2011

As you may know, fall is one of my favorite times of year, especially now.  I got married in the fall.  I think it’s because, for a while anyway, you can count on some warm or at least sunny days and cool nights.  The leaves changing color are also a favorite.  Plus the food, especially pumpkin.

I have a top five of favorite pumpkin things.  Here they are in no particular order.

  1. Pumpkin Roll
  2. Pumpkin Butter Pie
  3. Pumpkin Donut Muffins
  4. Pumpkin Whoopie Pies
  5. Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

And now this recipe for pumpkin bread.  I found it here.  I altered it a bit.  I used some brown sugar, I love brown sugar. The original called for less pumpkin, but I hate trying to figure out what to do with the leftover, so I used the whole can.  I love how the chocolate chips compliment the bread.  I thought it may overwhelm it, but it doesn’t.  I also used pecans instead of walnuts.  I’m not a fan of the walnut and I usually buy a large bag of pecans from either Costco or GFS and keep it in the freezer.  I do the same thing with pecans.

Oh, and I’ve made it enough times to know that if you don’t have mini chocolate chips, that’s okay.  My pantry is stocked with various sized chocolate chips and this recipe is forgiving in that regard.  This would be perfect as a muffin, too or as a mini loaf to give away during the holidays.  I love to give out backed goods during that time and those disposable mini loaves are perfect for this.

Pumpkin Bread

  • 1/2 C Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 C Sugar
  • 1/2 C Vegetable Oil
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1-14 oz can Pumpkin
  • 1 1/2 C Flour
  • 1/4 t Salt
  • 1/2 t Cinnamon
  • 1/2 t Ground Cloves
  • 1/2 t Nutmeg
  • 1/4 t Allspice
  • 1/4 C Pecans, chopped
  • 1/2 C Chocolate Chips

In a large bowl, mix all ingredients except the nuts and chocolate chips with an electric mixer.  Stir in the nuts and chips.  Pour the batter into a prepared pan.

Bake for one hour in a preheated 350 degree oven, or until the center springs back when lightly touched.

Makes one loaf.

P.S. Thanks Allison for sharing your recipes!  Keep ’em coming.

2 comments

  1. […] really give both of my ovens a work out.  This past Sunday I made five different cookies and some pumpkin bread in mini paper loaf […]


  2. […] Meeshie’s teachers I made mini Blueberry Zucchini Bread and Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread. GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

