h1

Pancakes!

October 30, 2011

We love pancakes.  I have a wonderful scratch pancake mix that I keep in the pantry.  It’s a perfect recipe for the pancake lover in your life.  So is this recipe.  It marries our favorite things, oatmeal cookies and pancakes.   The oatmeal cookie muffins reminded me how much we love this breakfast too.

The original recipe calls for nuts, but I don’t add them.  I guess it’s because I don’t add nuts to my oatmeal cookies.  If you do add them, please share.  I do like to brown the butter, but you don’t have to do that.  But if you want to try a new twist, try them with honey instead of the syrup.

The pancakes are a little darker than what I’m used to but that is due to the brown sugar in the batter.  They are a very moist and fluffy pancake with a hint of cinnamon flavoring…

Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes

  • 1 C Old Fashioned Oats
  • 1 C Flour
  • 1/2 C Brown Sugar
  • 2 t Baking Powder
  • 1/2 t Baking Soda
  • 1 t Cinnamon
  • 1/4 C chopped Pecans or Walnuts (optional)
  • 3/4 C Sour Cream
  • 3/4 C Milk
  • 2 large Eggs
  • 1 t Vanilla
  • 2 ripe Bananas, mashed
  • 3/4 C Raisins, soaked in warm water for at least 20 minutes
  • 1/4 C Butter, melted (brown the butter and you won’t be sorry)

In a large bowl, mix together the oats, flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and the nuts (optional).  In another bowl, whisk the eggs, sour cream, milk and vanilla together.  Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ones until just combined.  Fold the bananas and raisins into the batter.  Stir in the melted butter.

Heat a griddle over medium heat and use additional butter to the griddle.  Laddle the batter on to the prepared griddle, cook the pancakes until bubbles form on the tip and then flip them.

Serve with drizzled honey (oh yes!) or syrup.

Makes about 2 dozen pancakes.  Take the remaining pancakes and place them on a cookie sheet in one layer.   Place the cookie sheet in the freezer for about a half an hour, once they are frozen,  place the pancakes in a Ziploc bag and put them back in the freezer until you are ready to eat them.  This will prevent the pancakes from sticking together inside the bag and will allow for easy reheat on a busy morning.

On a separate note, I’ve been eyeing the pasta attachment for my kitchenmaid mixer.  Does anyone have one of those?  Any tips?

4 comments

  1. Karen – these would be very popular in my house. All the boys love pancakes and syrup. My husband always orders sliced bananas for his pancakes when we have breakfast out. I bet he would love these. Thanks for sharing! Oh, I don’t have the pasta attachment so let me know how it works for you. I have a manual pasta machine that I’ve used for 20+ years.
    Allison


    • I have the pasta attachment, I only used it once. I make my dough in the kitchen aid, but then make the pasta on the manual machine. I guess, I’m old school. I like how it works, and I’m just used to it. My mom bought an attachment to twist the cranker on her manual machine. That saves your arms. I’m still cranking on the other hand.


      • Denise-
        So you don’t like the attachment?
        Karen


  2. […] I can make jam, muffins, pie, pancakes, blueberry buckle, blueberry zucchini bread  and […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

