h1

Lemon Crinkle Cookie

October 26, 2011

I know it’s fall and pumpkin season, but I needed to share this simple lemon cookie.  I found this recipe a few months ago and kept forgetting to make it.  I made it over the weekend while Meeshie was out spending the day with her friends.  This one is being added to my Christmas cookie rotation, it’s that good.

This cookie has a great outer layer of crunch brought about from rolling the dough in powdered sugar.  When I sampled the raw dough (I know I shouldn’t with the raw egg, but I’m old enough to remember that was the best part of helping bake), it tasted like lemonade.  The inside of the cookie is light and soft a perfect contrast to the crunch, and because the powdered sugar is baked into the cookie, there is less mess.  A perfect grown-up cookie.

Lemon Crinkle Cookies

  • 1/2 C Butter, softened
  • 1 C Granulated Sugar
  • 1/2 t Vanilla
  • 1 Egg
  • zest and juice from one Lemon
  • 1/4 t Salt
  • 1/4 t Baking Powder
  • 1/8 t Baking Soda
  • 1 1/2 C Flour
  • 1/4 C Powdered Sugar

In a large bowl, cream butter and granulated sugar together until light and fluffy.  Whip in vanilla, egg, lemon zest and lemon juice.  Scrape sides and mix again.  Stir in the flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda. Scrape the sides of the bowl and mix again briefly.  Pour the powdered sugar into a bowl or plate.  Roll a golf ball sized amount of dough into a ball and roll in the powdered sugar.  Place about an inch apart on a parchment lined baking sheet.

Bake for 9-11 minutes or until the bottoms just begin to brown and the cookies no longer appear shiny.  Remove from the oven and cool cookies for 3 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack.

Makes 2 dozen cookies.

Speaking of Christmas cookies, am I the only one that tries to add at least one new recipe a year to share?

6 comments

  1. Karen,
    These look delicious! I adore lemon and these cookies sound yummy. I like your idea of putting them into the Christmas cookie rotation simply because the recipe looks easy and it’s a nice contrast to gingerbread men and a basic decorated sugar cookie. Thanks for sharing,
    Allison


  2. Hi Karen,
    Those lemon cookies sound awesome. Will have to try them. I try to put a new cookie into my Christmas collection but it seems I end up going back to my traditional ones. I did, one year, buy some springerle cookie presses and added those. Have you ever experimented with those? You are welcome to use my molds if it interests you. They can be pricey so we can share!
    Lisa


    • Lisa-
      I’ve never heard of those cookies. What are they?
      Karen


      • They are a very sturdy cookie that is pressed into a deep cavity, detailed wooden cookie mold. Most recipes call for you to let them sit out to dry once you mold them and then you bake them. You can also make ornaments out of them instead of cookies. The molds that I have I bought from Houseonthehill.com. I have also seen several different flavors of the recipe. Let me know if you decide you want to experiment with my molds.
        Lisa


      • Lisa-
        I’ll let you know!
        Karen


  3. […] Lemon Crinkle Cookies […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

