h1

OMG It’s Pumpkin

October 22, 2011

We love cinnamon rolls.  I make them a few times a year, keep them in the freezer and then reheat them for a quick morning treat about once a month.  I even give them away at Christmas.  There’s nothing like the smell of cinnamon rolls while they bake in the oven, especially on Christmas morning.

But it’s also the time of the year when I obsess over pumpkin: pumpkin whoopie pies, pumpkin pie, pumpkin roll, pumpkin muffin donuts are just a few of the things I love to make.  I saw this recipe for pumpkin cinnamon rolls and I knew that I had to make it.  The recipe needed to be altered due to the fact that I no longer have a bread machine, plus I doubled it to so that I wouldn’t have any leftover canned pumpkin.

All I can say is wow!  This is so good.  It’s an unexpected twist on a favorite.  I’m looking forward to enjoying this for breakfast the morning of Thanksgiving, too.  It’s a perfect make ahead dish that will really get you in the mood for fall.

If you do plan to freeze them, ice them and then wap them in Saran and then foil.  Reheat them in the oven at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes if thawed and about 20-25 minutes if frozen.  You’ll know they’re ready to take out of the oven once you start to smell the cinnamon.  Just keep an eye on them, you don’t want them to dry out, you’re just re-heating them!

Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

  • Dough:
  • 1  C Milk
  • 4 1/2 t Dry Yeast (two packets)
  • 2 Eggs, beaten
  • 1-14 oz can Pumpkin
  • 2 T Butter
  • 6 1/2 C Flour
  • 1 C Brown Sugar
  • 2 t Salt
  • 1 1/2 t Cinnamon
  • 1/2 t Ground Ginger
  • 1/2 t Nutmeg
  • Filling:
  • 1/2 C Butter, melted
  • 1 C Brown Sugar
  • 4 t Cinnamon
  • 1 t Nutmeg
  • 1 t Ground Ginger
  • 1 t Allspice
  • Frosting:
  • 8 oz Cream Cheese, softened
  • 1/2 C Butter, softened
  • 1/2 C Maple Syrup
  • 1 t Vanilla
  • 4 C Powdered Sugar
  • 1/2 t Pumpkin Pie Spice

Combine the milk, butter and sugar in a sauce pan.  Scald the milk mixture.  Set aside for about 25-30 minutes.  Add the dry yeast  to the milk mixture and let it set for a minute.  Add the eggs, flour, salt, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and pumpkin to the yeast mixture.  Blend well, the dough will be tacky.  Place the dough in a greased bowl, cover with a damp towel and let rise for an hour.

Generously flour the counter, place half of the dough on the counter and knead slightly.  Roll the dough into a 9×12 rectangle.  Combine the brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and allspice in a small bowl.  Using your hands, spread some of the melted butter on the dough to cover , then add half of the brown sugar mixture.  Starting from longest side of the dough, tightly roll the dough toward you making sure to seal it once you have finished rolling it.  Use a sharp knife and cut the dough into 1 to 1 1/2 inch pieces.  Using some of the melted butter grease your pan(s).  I use the round aluminum cake pans, but use whatever you feel comfortable with.  I like the pans because they are easy to freeze, they allow for about 8 rolls and they are easy to give away.  Repeat with remaining dough.

Cover and let rise again for another hour.  Bake in a 375 degree oven for 20 minutes, or until golden brown.

While they are baking, make the frosting.  Cream the butter and cream cheese together.  Add the syrup, vanilla, pumpkin pie spice and powdered sugar.  Spread over the warm rolls.

This makes 4 pans of cinnamon rolls.

5 comments

  1. […] Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls […]


  2. How lovely your rolls look! What a compliment that you enjoyed the recipe! I love that you re-made for the cooks who have already donated their long forgotten bread machines! Funny you mention that you will be making for Thanksgiving! I always bring the kids and stay at my parents the night before to help Mom with all the prep and cooking. My favorite time is having coffee and rolls with them the morning before the holiday begins…know that these rolls will be packed with our luggage! Great Job and lovely blog! Happy Cookin!


  3. I’ve got a silly question….when can you freeze them? Do you freeze them before you bake or after you bake and frosted them?


    • Okay, well I think I just found my answer. 🙂 After I asked the question I read your post above the recipe. I bake it first.


      • Traci-
        Yep, I have three pans in the freezer…They make great gifts…
        Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

