h1

Chicken Tortilla Soup

October 20, 2011

These last few fall days have really turned cold and wet.  It’s perfect soup weather, as far as I’m concerned.  My husband and I love soup.  I can eat it every day for dinner with some nice fresh bread.  Meeshie, on the other hand, is not a fan of soup, which I know I’ve mentioned before.  Is it wrong of me to then name some soup chili so that she’ll eat it?  Maybe, but what white lie have you told to get your children to eat a meal?

My husband has been asking me to make him some chicken tortilla soup that’s cheesy.  What I like about this recipe is that it’s cheesy, but that doesn’t take over the soup.  I love how the masa harina adds that underlying tortilla flavor.  This soup can be served with tortilla chips, sour cream, cheese and jalapeno.

Oh, and Meeshie ate it, although she did say she liked my regular chili much better.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

  • 1 T Vegetable Oil
  • 2 large boneless skinless Chicken Breasts (about 1 lb)
  • 1/2 C Onion, diced
  • 2 Garlic Cloves, minced
  • 1 jalapeno, diced and seeded (optional)
  • 4 C Chicken Broth
  • 1 C Mesa Harina
  • 2 C Water
  • 1-28 oz Crushed Tomatoes
  • 2 t Chili Powder
  • 2 t Cumin
  • 1 t Tabasco
  • 2 C Sharp Cheddar, shredded
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 3/4 C-1 C Sour Cream

Add the oil to a large pot over medium heat.   Add the chicken breasts to the pot, after seasoning with pepper and brown for 4-5 minutes per side.  Remove the chicken from the pot.

Add the onions, jalapeno and garlic to the pot and saute for about 2 minutes, until tender.  Slowly add the chicken broth, chili powder, and cumin.  Combine the masa harina with the 2 C of water, whisking until well blended.  Slowly add the masa mixture to the broth mixture.  Allow to simmer and continue to simmer for 5 minutes.  This will eliminate the raw taste of the mesa harina.  Once the mixture has simmered, add the crushed tomatoes, tabasco, and the cheese.  Cut the chicken into small pieces and add them to the pot.  Reduce the heat and simmer for 30-40 minutes.  Add the sour cream, stirring through and serve.

Serve with sour cream, tortilla chips, cheese, jalapeno, and green onion, if desired.

2 comments

  1. Karen, I love chicken tortilla soup. I have to be careful not too make it too spicy or the boys won’t even look at it. I make mine with a combination of chicken breasts and thighs (a few more calories but worth it). And as far small fibs I tell my kids: for years, we told our oldest that every meat/poultry item on his plate was chicken. If we didn’t call it chicken, he wouldn’t eat it.
    Allison


    • Allison-
      I do that too and mine is not what you would consider a picky eater!
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

