h1

Cheeseburger Chili

October 9, 2011

I made cheeseburger soup a while ago.  I made it and then the weather got so warm that I forgot about it.  Then I made it again and remembered that I had not shared it.  When I made it, I told Meeshie that it was cheeseburger chili instead of soup.  She won’t eat any soup, but she loves chili.  Plus, the consistency did reminds us of chili instead of soup.

The beauty of this soup is that it’s quick.  It can be whipped up during the week for supper.  It doesn’t have to sit on the stove for a long time to taste good.  Oh, and it tastes exactly like cheeseburger.  I think it’s the combination of the mustard and Worcestershire that does it.

We love soup, my husband and I.  We could easily eat soup everyday of the week once the weather turns cold.  We don’t, though, because Meeshie doesn’t like soup and I don’t like to make more than one thing for dinner.  I’m not a restaurant, I’m a mom that has a full-time job doing the best I can.

Serve this with some really fresh crusty bread and savor the fact that you are eating a soup/chili that tastes just like a cheeseburger!

Cheeseburger Chili Soup

  • 1 T Olive Oil
  • 1 C White Onion, diced
  • 1 lb Ground Sirloin
  • 1 T Flour
  • 3 T Tomato Paste
  • 1 T Mustard
  • 1  T Worcestershire
  • 1/4 C Sour Cream
  • 1-14 1/2 oz can Beef Broth
  • 1-10 1/2 oz can Beef Consomme
  • 6-8 oz shredded Sharp Cheddar Cheese
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste
  • 6 slices Bacon
  • 1 C Tomatoes, diced
  • 1/2 C Green Onions, diced

Cook bacon until crispy, chop and set aside.  While bacon is cooking, add olive oil to a stock pot.  Add onions and cook for about three minutes.  Add the ground sirloin and cook until browned.  Once, browned add the flour, tomato paste, mustard, Worcestershire, salt and pepper, and sour cream.  Stir until everything is coated.  Slowly add the beef broth and consomme.  Let simmer and add the cheese, and half of the bacon.  Continue to cook until the cheese has melted.  Serve with remaining bacon, tomatoes and green onion.

2 comments

  1. I know this is a little redundant, but I think this would be fantastic for tailgating. I must have football on the brain. I love the combination of flavors…I was wondering if you have ever tried it with ground turkey. I know my husband would love this. Thanks, Karen!
    Allison


    • Allison-
      No, I’ve never made it with ground turkey. I’ve never made anything with ground turkey. Give it a try and let me know how it goes. It probably would work well for a tailgate transported in a crockpot. We have a party with the neighbors on Halloween while the children trick or treat and it would be a great thing for that too.
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

