h1

I’m Wingin’ It!

October 7, 2011

We are lovers of wings in our house.  My husband loves them because he thinks they are such a guy food.  Like watch some hockey or football on television and enjoy some good wings guy food.  Meeshie loves them because they’re perfectly proportioned.  I like them because they’re good and there are a million ways to make them.

Sometimes we grill them.  Sometimes we roast them in the oven.  Sometimes we make them extra spicy.  Sometimes we marinade them for a few hours before we prepare them.  Sometimes we deep fry them.  One thing is always the same, though, we always devour them.  They are perfect as an appetizer for a group, or a meal for you and your honey.

This recipe came to me from my friend Nicole.  And even though she and I have never met, I know we could on like a house on fire.  Plus, I think that her husband and mine would get along very well.  They like a lot of the same foods.  When she posted this recipe, I could not wait to make it.

This recipe has great make a head potential if you’re having a gathering.  I can see cooking the wings in the crock pot the day before and then broiling them right before serving the day of your party.  Have I mentioned how forgiving it is too?  I seem to keep forgetting to add the ginger and garlic at the beginning of the cooking process and remember them about an hour later.

I drizzled the sauce on the wings and spread it with the back of a spoon, making sure not to have the spoon touch the sauce in the bowl.  Then I served the remaining sauce on the side with the wings, along with some sour cream.

Slow Cooker Sticky Wings

  • 3/4 C packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 C soy sauce
  • 1 T minced or grated fresh ginger
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 t cayenne pepper
  • 4 lbs whole chicken wings, (Use kitchen scissors or a sharp knife to separate wings at each joint. Discard the wingtips and cook the remaining two sections)
  • Salt and pepper
  • Vegetable oil spray
  • 1/4 C water
  • 1/4 C tomato paste

Stir 1/4 C of the sugar, 1 T soy sauce, ginger, garlic and 1/4 t cayenne pepper into crock pot. Season chicken with salt and pepper, add to slow cooker and toss to coat. Cover and cook until chicken is tender, about 4 hours on low.

Position oven rack 10 inches from broiler element and preheat broiler. Place wire rack in aluminum foil-lined rimmed baking sheet and spray with vegetable oil spray. Transfer chicken to prepared baking sheet and discard braising liquid in the slow cooker.

Combine remaining 1/2 cup sugar, 3 T soy sauce, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, water and tomato paste in a medium bowl. Brush the chicken with half the mixture and broil until lightly charred and crisp, about 10-15 minutes. Flip chicken
over, brush with remaining mixture and broil until lightly charred and crisp on second side, about 5-10 minutes.

Serve them alone or as a companion to your favorite spicy wings.

Here’s the original post.

3 comments

  1. Yum! Since it’s football season I kind of want to pack these up for tailgating. My husband would be so happy if I made these (as long as I left him alone to eat and watch his game in peace).
    Allison


  2. I’m so sorry I’m just seeing this post now! Illness and other things too boring to explain kept me from the computer for a while and I’m just getting caught up on reading my favorite blogs. I’m so glad you liked these wings. I completely agree that we could cook up a storm if we got together and we both seem to have husbands with similar tastes. Hope you forgive me for ignoring you for so long!


    • Nicole-
      I’m glad you’re getting back in the swing. I was worried.
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

