h1

Raisin Oatmeal Cookie Muffins

October 4, 2011

I’m always looking for a great breakfast meal.  I especially love a grab and go one.  That’s why the muffin was invented, right?  To grab and go on those mornings when you don’t have time to either sit down and eat or you don’t have time.  A muffin is its own package and you can either eat it in your car, or you can eat it when you get to work.

This muffin brings two great things together, cookies and muffins.  As a matter of fact, I have an oatmeal cookie pancake recipe that I now have to make this weekend.

I’m wondering if you are a raisin soaker?  I can say that I’m a fan of soaking your raisins.  I like that a simple step can add so much to a recipe.  That extra level of plumpness really adds something to the recipe.  I like to soak them in warm water for at least a half an hour, but that’s your call.

These are a perfect companion to these cool fall mornings.  I can also see that the raisin could be replaced by dried cherries, strawberries, or blueberries.  I suppose you could use cranberries, but I’m not a fan of them, but if you do make them that way, I hope you share.

Raisin Oatmeal Cookie Muffins

  • 4 C Old Fashioned Rolled Oats
  • 2 C Flour
  • 1 1/2 t Baking Powder
  • 1/2 t Baking Soda
  • 1 t Salt
  • 2 t Cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 C Butter, softened
  • 1 C Sugar
  • 1 C Brown Sugar, packed
  • 4 Eggs
  • 2 t Vanilla
  • 1 C Sour Cream
  • 1 1/2 C Raisins

In a medium-sized bowl, combine the flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon.  In another bowl beat the butter and sugars until fluffy.  Add the vanilla and beat in the eggs, one at a time.   Add the dry ingredients and mix until combined.  Add in the sour cream and then add the raisins.  The batter will resemble wet cookie batter.  Measure the batter into a prepared muffin tin (I don’t use paper liners, but feel free) about 3/4 full.

Bake in a 375 degrees oven for 18 to 20 minutes, or until golden and a cake tester inserted in the centers comes out clean.  Transfer to a wire rack and allow them to cool completely.

Thanks studentmamacook for posting this great recipe!

Linked here today!  Whoe doesn’t love maple?  And maple muffins?!

6 comments

  1. You know, raisins would seem like the logical thing to add to these muffins. I’m glad you though of that, because they look amazing with them. I’m going to make them with the raisins this weekend.


  2. I’ve never tried soaking my raisins before baking, but I think I need to. I love oatmeal cookies and muffins, so these are definite like for me.


  3. I’ve “soaked” raisins before, but usually in liquer for a Christmastime recipe. Love your photos…I can totally see myself enjoying one of these with a big cup of hot coffee.
    Allison


  4. I think I will try these w/blueberries or cranberries. What about choc chips? Jess suggested that, but not sure if that would fit w/ these. What do you think?


    • Carol-
      Oh I like the idea of chocolate chips. Maybe some white chocolate chips and cranberries?
      Karen


  5. […] life.  So is this recipe.  It marries our favorite things, oatmeal cookies and pancakes.   The oatmeal cookie muffins reminded me how much we love this breakfast […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

