h1

Blondes Have More Fun

September 4, 2011

Last week I was looking for a great recipe for blondies.  You know the great dessert that’s like a brownie without the cocoa.  I knew it would be something that Meeshie would really like in her lunch.  Unfortunately, the first try was a bust.  I had a recipe from someone I don’t normally swap recipes with, but I was assured that it was a great one.  As a matter of fact, the woman who gave me this recipe made it for her husband because he could no longer have chocolate.  What the heck who could say no to that?

Let me say that there wasn’t anything wrong with the recipe, except it wasn’t what I had in mind.  I brought it to work and everyone liked it.  Meeshie liked it.  My husband liked it.  Was it brownie like?  Heck no.  It reminded me of my pound cake recipe, just thinner.

So in my quest for a great blondie recipe, I found one.  And is it good.  I love that you can add whatever you like to it make it your own.  I like that it’s easy to double.  I especially like that it has the consistency of a brownie without the cocoa, just like I was looking for.

I browned the butter, but you don’t have to.  I’m on a browned butter kick lately, but I can stop at any time, really.  I used some of the awesome caramel bits, I keep finding more and more uses for these gems.  The combination of the browned butter and the caramel gives the blondies a butterscotch flavor.

I love how this doesn’t require anything more than my mixing bowl and whisk.  In other words, I beat everything by hand.  Sometimes that makes me happy.  It’s like doing dishes, it relaxes me.

Blondies

  • 1/2 C Butter
  • 1 C Brown Sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 t Vanilla
  • 1/8 t Salt
  • 1 C Flour
  • 1/2 C Pecans, chopped (optional)
  • 1/2 C Kraft Caramel Bits (optional)

Grease a 8×8 pan.  In a medium bowl, combine the flour and salt.  Melt and brown the butter, let cool.  In a large bowl, add the brown sugar and the butter and whisk until smooth.  Add the egg and vanilla and beat until smooth.  Add the flour mixture to the sugar mixture.  Mix in the additional ingredients.  Pour into prepared pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes, or until set in the middle.

Makes 16 squares.

Here’s the original, with additional ideas.

I’m loving the idea of adding dried fruit to this.

12 comments

  1. I’ve been on that same blondie quest…it can be so frustrating. I can’t wait to try these. I would probably put white chocolate chips in mine, too. These looks really moist and delicious.


    • Sue-
      It was frustrating, but the end of the quest was worth it. Why I didn’t start at Smitten Kitchen first is te question I’ve been asking myself. Thanks for stopping by.
      Karen


  2. Mmm, I love a good blondie but I have no recipe of my own for them. I think I’ll just skip the quest and try this one. It sounds perfect to me.


  3. Thanks for posting your recipe. I have had blondies on the brain for awhile, not too sure why I haven’t made them. You’ve inspired me to make them this week. I’m sure my boys won’t be too sad about that. One question on the Kraft caramel bits…I haven’t seen those around (though I haven’t specifically looked either). Did you pick them up in your normal market?
    Thanks!
    Allison


    • Allison-
      I found them at Target. I can say that if you go on their website there’s a spot for “where can I find this product”, or something similar. When I did that, it stated that they were sold at the Target in my town. You are pretty creative, though, and if you can’t find them I’m sure you’ll be able to figure out somthing else.

      I’ve actually made them a few times because they’re so simple to whip up, but then I love to have some great baked goods on hand to put in Meeshie’s lunch.

      Enjoy.
      Karen


  4. Karen, These look so delicious…I love Blondies! I have never had one with Carmel in it…sounds great!


  5. These sound delish!!!


  6. I love that you made this recipe too, Karen. I absolutely fell in love with the flavor and texture and it’s so adaptable. Love yours!


  7. I really really really really really want to make these!


  8. […] So by now, you’re probably looking for the recipe.  Just hop on over to visit {Meeshie’s Mom blog}.  The recipe and Karen’s full post can be found HERE. […]


  9. These look amazing. i am going to have to try these the first chance I get.


  10. […] Blondies […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!