h1

A Garden Find

September 1, 2011

I’m re-posting a great recipe from last year.

I was finally able to make this wonderful tomato pie last night for dinner.  When I looked at the post from last year, I noticed I had tomatoes about a month earlier.  Mother nature was not kind to my garden, but now that I have a tomato harvest I’m enjoying every minute of it.

We love the fresh tomatoes and I had almost forgotten how much we loved this dish.  It’s perfect as is or served with a great salad.

Also, since posting and making it last year, I’ve tweaked the recipe slightly.  Either way you make it, tomato pie is a great summer dish.  I make my own pie crust, but you can use the store bought kind just as easily.

Oh, regarding the pictures.  I was so excited about the pie that I took some pictures before I stuck it in the oven and I forgot the cheese.  Luckily, I remembered the cheese before I cooked it or we would have had a mutiny.

Tomato Pie

  • 1 Pie Crust
  • 4 whole Tomatoes (peeled, Cored, Seeds Removed)
  • 8-10  leaves Fresh Basil, chopped
  • A sprig of Fresh Oregano, chopped (optional)
  • 1/2 C Chopped Green Onion
  • 1 pinch Truffle Salt To Taste (or Sea Salt)
  • 1 pinch Pepper To Taste
  • 1 C Grated Part-skim Mozzarella Cheese
  • 1 C Grated Cheddar Cheese
  • 1/2 C Mayonnaise

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Line the pie crust with foil or a coffee filter and fill with pie weights or dry beans. Bake until the edges are golden, 15 minutes. Cool slightly on a wire rack.

Once the pie crust is out of the oven, set the temperature for the oven to 350 degrees.   Clean and slice your tomatoes and arrange the slices in the crust, overlapping them.  You must make sure to seed and peel the tomatoes otherwise you’ll have tomato soup not tomato pie.   Add basil, oregano, and onion, then sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.   Mix cheeses and mayonnaise in bowl.  Spread over tomatoes.   Bake for 30 minutes, or until lightly brown.  Cool about 10 minutes before slicing.

This is a great way to use up those garden tomatoes and that fresh basil growing like a weed in your garden!

Here’s the original post.

4 comments

  1. This is a fantastic idea. So fresh!!


  2. It really was a late summer, wasn’t it? Hopefully winter takes a while to come so we can enjoy fresh tomatoes and garden veggies as long as possible. This pie looks delicious and a great way to use some of those wonderful summer tomatoes.


  3. This looks like a lovely summer dish! I’m glad you reposted it:)


  4. This sounds delicious. I will have to save and try this recipe.



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

