h1

Blueberry Bread

August 22, 2011

School started today.  Last week was the walk through, but today was the day.  Meeshie’s been so nervous.  As a fourth grader, she has a new school, three new teachers and a start time that has me shaking my head.  School starts at 7:30 am.  That’s earlier than the junior high school and the high school.  This is the first year for this start time.  The school board claims this will save us money some how with the buses.  I have my doubts, but then I’m sceptical about a lot of things.

I thought making this blueberry bread with her would distract her for a little bit.  Meeshie loves blueberries and since I’ve been making the zucchini blueberry bread for so long, I thought I would make this.  Oh, it doesn’t help that I haven’t gotten any zucchini from the garden this year, either.  She had fun helping me get everything together, especially the topping.  Who doesn’t love a great crumble topping?

This bread makes awesome blueberry muffins.  I love making them in those Texas muffin tins.  I’ve also made this with apple sauce in the batter instead of the butter, and you cannot tell the difference.  This recipe is unique with the boiling water and the orange juice.  There is a slight tang from the orange juice, but it’s one of those tastes that you can’t quite put your finger one.  In other words, the orange juice really brings out the flavor the blueberries.

I put the batter in one large bread pan, but it can also make two medium-sized loves.

It’s perfect for a school snack or an out the door breakfast.

Blueberry Bread

  • 2 C Blueberries
  • 1/2 C Boiling Water
  • 4 T Butter
  • 1 C Orange Juice
  • 2 Eggs, beaten
  • 2 C Sugar
  • 4 C Flour, divided
  • 2 t Baking Powder
  • 1/2 t Baking Soda
  • 1/2 t Salt
  • Topping:
  • 4 T Flour
  • 4 T Sugar
  • 2 t Cinnamon
  • 4 T Butter, chilled

Place the boiling water in a bowl and add the butter, stirring until melted.  In a large bowl, add the orange juice, eggs, and sugar, mix will.  Add the water/butter mixture.  Coat the blueberries with 2 T of the flour.  In a medium bowl, combine the remaining flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Stir the flour mixture  into the wet.  Mix until combined, the batter will resemble the consistency of pancake batter.  Fold in the coated blueberries and pour into a greased bread pan.

For the topping, combine the sugar, flour and cinnamon.  Cut the butter into small pieces and cut into the flour mixture until crumbly.  Sprinkle on top of the blueberry batter.  Bake in a preheated 325 degrees oven for an hour.  Cool for 10 minutes before removing from the pan.

10 comments

  1. This looks fabulous! Love blueberries 🙂


  2. My school district has all the intermediate schools (that’s 6th and 7th grade) start at 7. They have to share buses with the elementary schools (they start at 9). It’s a pain, but it does save money. You only have to pay for half the buses. Yes, you still use the same amount of gas, but only half the maintenance and half the drivers and half the registration and all that.

    Oh, and that bread looks amazing. I wish I could still get good fresh blueberries. I’ll have to save this for next year.


    • Oh but my school district has a kindergarten, 1-3, 4-6, and 7-8. They put the kindergarten and 7-8 on the same bus schedule (8:20 start), the 1-3 on another bus and 4-6 on another. They say that that saves money, but there is no way the 5 year olds are on the same bus as the tweens. Thanks for the kind words on the bread.
      Karen


  3. Great bread Karen! I really love blueberries baked into cookies and breads, yum!


  4. Your bread looks wonderful. I’m afraid it wouldn’t last long in my kitchen. This is the kind ogf dish my family adores and they are not light eaters :-). I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary


  5. […] This blueberry bread. Posted on one of the few blogs that I follow, meeshiesmom. Have I made it? No, but doesn’t the picture that was posted with it look good? […]


  6. I’m making this today, Karen. I can’t wait to enjoy a slice with a cup of coffee!


  7. […] To visit Karen and see her original post, click here. […]


  8. […] is something I make often, but I never considered adding banana.  The recipe pairs this with blueberry muffins.  Which, I’m making right now.  I’m sure blueberry zucchini muffins would also […]


  9. […] I can make jam, muffins, pie, pancakes, blueberry buckle, blueberry zucchini bread  and […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

