h1

Peanut Butter Squares

August 15, 2011

We’ve had a crazy few weeks around here.  Vader, our black pug, has been in a lot of pain.  Have you ever heard a dog screech?  It’s heart breaking.  The poor dog has been drugged, examined and drugged some more.  We even sent him to a chiropractor.   We carried him everywhere.  It turns out he had a bulging disk in his neck and he had surgery last week.  The vet actually fixed three disks total and he seems to be more himself.
To celebrate his homecoming I pulled out a recipe that I haven’t made in years.  My brother asked me for the recipe months ago and I talked about it with a girlfriend, so it’s been rattling around my brain for a while.  I just needed a good excuse to make it.
What better excuse than Vader?  This makes a large pan of a treat that is reminiscent of a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup.  It’s really easy to make, but rich and not the healthiest of treats.
Don’t worry, I’m not sharing these squares with the dog, but  my husband wants to take Vader to get a hamburger once he’s feeling better.
The only problem I see with this treat is that I need to ration it.  My husband loves these and so does Meeshie, but then we are big fans of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.  I brought some to work and they were gone in seconds.
Peanut Butter Squares
  • 4 C Powdered Sugar
  • 2 C Graham Cracker Crumbs
  • 1 C Butter, softened
  • 2 C Peanut Butter (I used super chunk because that’s what I buy)
  • 2 8oz Hershey Bars
 Combine the sugar, graham crackers, butter and peanut butter well and press in to a 9×13 pan.  Break up the Hershey bars on top of the peanut butter mixture and place in a warm oven (325 degrees) until melted, or place the chocolate in a microwave safe bowl, melt the chocolate in the microwave and spread on top of the peanut butter mixture.  Cut into one-inch squares and then let the chocolate set (it’s easier to cut this way).  I keep it in the fridge until it has set.
Makes about 60 squares.
4 comments

  1. This is one recipe that I cannot make for myself. I don’t have the self control. 🙂


  2. Poor little doggie! I’m glad they figured out what was hurting him! These peanut butter bars look divine


  3. Oh, your poor dog! I hope he’ll be feeling more like himself very soon. I’ve never heard of that condition before. Reese’s are a family favorite. So much so, that I never buy them for our trick-or-treaters or they’d be gone before the big day! Love your pics…they look delicious!


  4. I hope your dog is feeling better. And the squares look really good. I’m going to have to try them out.



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

