h1

Summertime Blues

August 4, 2011

I’m trying to be patient with my garden.  I don’t think it’s working.  So far this year I’ve harvested two cucumbers, one jalapeno and three grape tomatoes.  How sad is that?  Usually by this time, I’ve given away more veggies than I can count.

The zucchini I planted died.  Both plants rotted and needed to be pulled.  I thought that it was due to all that rain we had in June, but my neighbor suggested that a bug may have gotten to them.  She’s probably right.  I planted some zucchini seeds over the weekend and once they spring up I’ll be wrapping them in tinfoil (again at her suggestion) to prevent the bugs from burrowing into the stem.

I have the bushiest tomato plants, but the tomatoes wont turn.  I need some lightning storms.  I’m leery of pulling them off the vine to allow them to ripen in a paper bag.  That method works fine for me in the fall when I’m done with the garden, but I don’t like to do that this early in the season.  In summers past, we’ve enjoyed our share of tomato sandwiches and bacon tomato sandwiches, so we are anxious for the first taste of this great fruit.

I planted okra this year but I’m not sure if the lone pod on my plant is ready.  How do you know?  Shouldn’t there be more?

The blueberry farm near by closed down last week, while we were home, and  I just found out it closed down for the season yesterday.  The road to the corn farmer is closed to all traffic this summer.  They have the sweetest corn I’ve ever had in my life and every other year I buy a burlap sack of day old corn for a song.  I shuck it, par-boil and freeze it.  We then spend all winter (and then some) enjoying corn.

On the bright side, the basil is doing great, but it always does.  I’ll be making pesto this weekend and one of my friends gave me a great recipe for a pesto cheese spread that I’m so excited to try and share.

We’ve been enjoying this cauliflower recipe for a change.  We love the pan roast caulilfower , but are enjoying this one too.  I have a cast iron pan that I use on the grill that’s perfect for this dish.  I’ve made it without the Herbs de Provence.  I mixed thyme, basil, rosemary and sage together instead.  I roast this on the grill for about 15 to 20 minutes, tossing occasionally.  It’s one of the vegtables I did not plant, so I’m not disapointed in my harvest, or lack there of.

Here’s hoping my crop comes in soon.

Spicy Mustard Roasted Cauliflower

  • 3  T Spicy Mustard
  •  1 1/2 T Olive Oil
  •  1/2 t Truffle Salt
  • 1/2 t Ground Pepper
  •  1 T Herbs de Provence
  •  2 head(s) (about 2 pounds) cauliflower, cut into 1-inch florets

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

In a bowl, whisk the mustard, oil, Herbs de Provence and season with salt and pepper. Toss in the cauliflower; spread on a baking sheet. Roast for 30 minutes. Enjoy!

Here’s the original.

10 comments

  1. Don’t feel bad. I’ve only had 3 zucchinis so far, and 1 tomato. The potato plants did wonderful, and we’ve planted our second crop. I don’t know what happened this year. The plants just aren’t producing. The blackberry bushes didn’t produce many berries either.


  2. How sad! It seems like all the great summer fruits and veggies are conspiring against you! 🙂 Hope your tomatoes turn soon and that you can makes some wonderful things with them and your basil. Until then, this cauliflower sounds delicious. I have very few recipes that use cauliflower so I am always looking for more.


  3. Sorry your veggies aren’t producing like you had hoped. 😦 That’s really disappointing. I wish I had some advice but I’m afraid my thumb isn’t green at all. 😦

    I love roasted cauliflower and garlic…never had it with spicy mustard before though. Sounds great! 🙂


  4. That sucks about the garden. My parents have been having a hard time with theirs too, bugs got to the yellow squash and zucchini. But that cauliflower looks delicious. I can’t wait to try it.


  5. I love almost every veggie but cauliflower I really only eat if it’s roasted. Yours sounds delicious, I love the spices that you added!


  6. chin up…..I love in washington…and its still only 60 degrees here. my squash plants only have 2 leaves on them still. so… im right there with you:)
    http://adventurefoodlove.com


    • and by love I ment live…although most of the time i love it too;)


    • Candi-
      I’m jealous of your cool weather. My zucchini is looking much better this year, but the egg plant, not so much. I heard somewhere that it’s not a good idea to lant them near other plants. Are those other plants cucumber? That’s what I don’t remember and that’s where they are planted. I would love Washington too, I’m sure…
      Karen


      • it probably is… and ive stuck them together…will have to check my companion planting book. I always start with good intentions…then stick stuff where ever any way…willy nilly style:)


      • I’m having better luck this year. Hope to share a zucchini recipe this week.
        Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

