h1

Blueberry Jam

July 31, 2011

It’s blueberry season around here.  I look forward to this time every year.  My husband and I really get into the competitive nature of picking, keeping rack of who has picked the most blueberries (it’s neck and neck).  Unfortunately this year the blueberry farm closed after only one week this year due to a lack of blueberries.  They are to open again next week, but we may not be able to get there.

We still have blueberries in the freezer from last year, so I made blueberry jam with some of them.  I’ve never made jam before and was really nervous.  The recipe I had was very simple, that wasn’t the issue.  It was the jarring/canning thing that made me nervous.  I’d never done that before, but I quickly discovered it wasn’t anything to worry about.  It was really easy and I can’t wait to try other flavors.  I’m also going to make the berry struesel bars with this jam and some of my blueberries-yum!

Blueberry Jam

  • 4 C Crushed Blueberries
  • 1 Box Fruit Pectin
  • 4 C Sugar
  • Glass jars with lids (I had enough for 6 jars)

Sterilize your glass jars, I used the dishwasher.  While you are preparing the jars, crush the blueberries in a large bowl, one cup at a time.  I used a potato masher.  Mix the crushed fruit and pectin in a large pot.  Cook over high heat, stirring constantly, until the fruit has reached a full rolling boil.  Add the sugar all at once and stir thoroughly.  Bring the mixture to a full rolling boil again.  Once it has reached the boiling point, cook for one minute and then remove from the heat.   In another pot, add enough water to thoroughly submerge the jar lids. Bring the pot of water to a boil and add the lids. Ladle the berries into the prepared jars.  With a damp cloth, clean the outside of the jars as well as the lip.  This will ensure that the lid will seal.  Add the lids, sealing tightly, and place the jars lid side down on a cookie sheet lined with a tea towel.  Let then sit for 7 minutes and then turn them over, letting them rest for 24 hours.  I had enough jam for 6 jars.

Here is the original recipe.

7 comments

  1. You did a better job explaining it than I did. Good job, and I hope you had fun making jam. It’s a blast. I’ve got peaches and strawberries waiting for me to mash up today 🙂


    • You explained it just fine, obviously. I can’t wait to make something else.
      Karen


  2. I love this recipe, thanks for sharing! There’s a farmstand at the lake that we go to and they have fresh jams and jellies and I miss them so much during the winter. I am going to stock up on berries and make my own now!


  3. The first jam I ever made was a blueberry jam, and it’s still my favorite. It’s just such a great flavor in a jam and you can use it on so much.


  4. Hai Dear

    This looks yummy….you have a lovely blog… You have so many wonderful recipes..I have bookmarked you blog and some recipe from that to try..Please check out my blog.I am having a Giveaway in my blog..Please check it out and partcipate in that..
    http://yummytummy-aarthi.blogspot.com/2011/07/homemade-bounty-chocolate-and-giveaway.html

    Aarthi


  5. […] love to just slice this bread, toasted it slightly and spread some blueberry jam on […]


  6. […] I can make jam, muffins, pie, pancakes, blueberry buckle, blueberry zucchini bread  and […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

