h1

Yummy Cupcakes!

July 28, 2011

I came across this awesome recipe for a root beer float cake that I knew would be great for Meeshie’s birthday.  It’s a wonderful chocolate cake with a hint of root beer flavor.

I must admit that I’m not much of a soda drinker (or do you say pop?).  When I was a girl I never had soda very often.  It was milk or Wyler’s, but on the occasion that I did have soda, it was either root beer or lemon lime.  Then as I got older, I drank more soda but never really expanded my palate from those two flavors.  Three years ago I stopped drinking soda all together and haven’t really missed it.  That doesn’t mean I don’t like a good root beer float or root beer candy.  That’s what this cake reminds me of, a piece of root beer candy.

The cake is moist and has a hint of root beer, thanks to the root beer syrup.  The frosting is heavier on the chocolate flavoring due to the cocoa, but you could easily add more root beer to  give it more flavor.  What I really loved about the frosting was how easy it is to pipe.

Root Beer Float Cupcakes

  • 2 C Root Beer (don’t use diet)
  • 1 C   Cocoa Powder, dark unsweetened
  • 1/2 C  Butter, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
  • 1 1/4 C Sugar
  • 1/2 C dark Brown Sugar
  • 2 C Flour
  • 1 1/4 t Baking Soda
  • 1 t Salt
  • 2 large Eggs

Preheat even to 325 degrees F.  Prepare cupcake pans.

In a small saucepan, heat the root beer, cocoa powder and butter over medium heat until butter is melted.  Add sugars and whisk until dissolved.  Remove from heat and let cool.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt.

In a small bowl whisk the eggs until just beaten.  Then whisk into the cocoa mixture until combined.  Gently fold the flour mixture into the cocoa mixture.  The batter will be slightly lumpy.  You can give it a quick whisk if you like, but don’t over beat the batter or it could cause the cake to be tough.  Don’t worry, the batter is very loose.

Pour the batter into prepared pan and cook for 20 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through baking until a sharp knife inserted in the center comes out clean.  Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Chocolate Root Beer Frosting

  • 2 ounces 60% cocoa, melted
  • 1/2 C Butter, softened
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/4 C Root  Beer (or more)
  • 2/3 C Cocoa Powder, unsweetened
  • 2 1/2  C Powdered Sugar

In the bowl of a stand mixer, or using an electric hand mixer, beat softened butter and cocoa powder.  Once combined add the melted chocolate, salt, powdered sugar and root beer.  Beat together until smooth.  Spread on top of cooled cupcakes.

I made some of the cupakes this way and others with the beach theme.  Yum!

Here’s the original.

4 comments

  1. I am going to have to try this. It looks delicious, and my kids are real big root beer kids. If they get soda, this is, hands down, what they pick. I’ll have to make up a batch and bring them to the next church activity we have, they always make homemade root beer and the kids (all of them, not just mine) love it. I wonder if you could make this like a root beer float cupcake by using a white, not chocolate, frosting. I’ll have to experiment.


  2. I love root beer!!! I would love to try these cupcakes! They sound amazing!! 🙂


  3. I love root beer floats! These cupcakes sound delicious, and perfect to bring to a BBQ or party.

    PS – I say soda. I was so confused when I moved somewhere that said “pop” because I always expected people to hand me a popsicle.


    • Nicole-
      Everyone says pop around here, but I got in the habit of calling it soda after living in area that made fun my use of the word “pop”.
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

