h1

Chocolate Berry Streusel Bars

July 17, 2011

I’ve been baking these last two weekends.  Meeshie’s birthday part is next Saturday and I’ve made cupcakes and stuck them in the freezer.  I’m planning on sharing soon.  But even though I had to bake a batch of cupcakes twice (I made two flavors, and one of the flavors didn’t turn out right), I’m still baking today.

I found a recipe a few weeks ago for streusel bars with fresh strawberries.  I never seem to have fresh strawberries in the house long enough to bake with them.  But I do have dried strawberries.  I love the flavor of dried strawberries.  I also have dried cherries.  The flavor of dried strawberries and cherries together is wonderful.

This recipe really lends itself to your favorite fruit, fresh or dried.  Blueberries with blueberry jam?  How about raspberries with strawberry jam?  Dried apricot with peach jam?  Or how about mixing a few of your favorites together, like I did?  If you want to add a small amount of pecans.

White Chocolate Berry Streusel Bars

  • 2 C Oats
  • 1 1/2 C  Flour
  • 3/4 C Sugar
  • 3/4 C Brown Sugar
  • 1 t Baking Powder
  • 1/2 t Baking Soda
  • 1/2 t Fine Sea Salt
  • 1 C butter, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1/2 C Strawberry Jam (in a liquid measuring cup-4 oz)
  • 1 t Lemon Zest
  • 1 C Dried Strawberries, chopped
  • 3/4 C Dried Cherries, chopped
  •  3 oz. White Chocolate, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large bowl whisk together oats, flour, both sugars, baking soda, baking powder and salt.  Add in cold butter that has been cut into small pieces. Combine into dry ingredients either with your hands or a pastry cutter until butter is well incorporated as little crumbles. Remove 1 cup of mixture and with remaining mixture carefully pour into a prepared 15×10 jelly roll pan/cookie sheet. Press mixture into pan to create an even crust.  Place in oven and bake for 12-13 minutes or until it is firm to the touch. You do NOT want to brown this layer. Remove from oven.  Warm jam in microwave for 30 seconds. Add in lemon zest and then pour over warm crust. Spread berries over jam layer and then sprinkle with reserved 1 cup crumb mixture.Pop into the oven and bake for 20-25 minutes until topping is a light brown. Remove from oven and let cool 1 hour before drizzling with melted white chocolate. Cut into 24 bars.

I thought that I had some white chocolate in the pantry, but I used it all for my niece’s party.  I melted some Hershey kisses and drizzled them on top.  That being said I’m a huge fan of white chocolate and normally have it on hand.

Here’s the original.

4 comments

  1. This sounds wonderful! I can’t hardly keep fresh strawberries in the house either. We no sooner buy them than eat them all up! Using dried strawberries is a great idea, and your streusel bars look very tempting! It would last long at all in our house! 🙂


  2. I love dried strawberries, too. This is such a versatile bar. I always have some odds and ends of dried berries, so this would be a great way to use them up.


  3. You had me at streusel…I love the use of dried strawberries. Unfortunately neither would last around here, but I might be able to stash some for these – sounds delicious!


  4. […] It was really easy and I can’t wait to try other flavors.  I’m also going to make the berry struesel bars with this jam and some of my […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

