h1

More Fun with Blueberries!

July 13, 2011

My husband loves oatmeal cookies and bars.  So, when I came across this recipe I knew I had to make it.    I don’t know about you, but I love a good oatmeal bar, but sometimes I get in a rut.  It seems like I always add raisins to oatmeal recipes, or butterscotch morsels.  But blueberries and oatmeal?

Now, don’t get me wrong.  I love raisins.  Raisins are awesome.  They pair up great with oatmeal but sometimes I just want to have something a little different.  That’s where these babies come in.  The blueberries with the oatmeal really compliment each other.  My husband and I actually eat these for breakfast when we need something quick.

I used my blueberries that I picked and had frozen, because when you go to the blueberry farm and pick 15 pounds of blueberries, you have to freeze them.  I like this recipe so much that I’m planning on making my oatmeal cookie pancakes with blueberries next time around.

I was a bit sceptical about mixing the blueberries into the batter.  I thought about putting some of the batter in the pan, spreading the blueberries and finally covering them with the more batter.  But I’m glad I didn’t.  The blueberry is hearty enough to handle the gentle fold.

Blueberry Oatmeal Bars

  • 1 C Flour
  • 1/2 t Baking Soda
  • 1/2 t Fine Sea Salt
  • 1 t Cinnamon
  • 1/2 C Butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 C Sugar
  • 1/2 Cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 T Honey
  • 1 t Vanilla
  • 1 1/2 C Old Fashioned Oats
  • 3/4 C fresh blueberries
Preheat oven to 350.
Sift flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon into a large bowl.  Set aside.
Cream butter and sugars until smooth.  Add the egg, honey, and vanilla, beat until incorporated.  Add the dry ingredients, including the oats, and mix well.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl and gently fold in the blueberries using a rubber spatula.  Add the batter to a prepared 8 x 8 baking dish.  Bake for 20 minutes to 30 minutes.  It will be done when the  middle springs back after you touch it.
Here’s the original.
5 comments

  1. These must be wonderful. I imagine the blueberries add moisture to what can sometimes be a dry cookie. I really like the way these sound. I hope you have a great weekend. Blessings…Mary


  2. This looks great! I actually am soooo tired of the oatmeal and raisins combo that I don’t ever want to think about it. I love blueberries, so this sounds like a great idea! I hope to try this out sometime, they look absolutely delicious!


  3. Glad you enjoyed them!! 🙂


  4. This looks like a great recipe, I love blueberry bars too. Something about oatmeal with blueberries is just heavenly to me!


  5. What a great idea! I can almost smell them while looking at your pictures! 🙂 My problem is I rarely have blueberries for baking because I always eat them all fresh. I gotta remember to freeze some so I can make yummy stuff like this! 🙂



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

