h1

Royal Garlic Bread

July 7, 2011

My husband loves garlic bread.  It’s one of those things that he really enjoys.  Over the holiday weekend we barbecued and he really wanted to have garlic bread on the side.  Since his birthday is right after the 4th, I thought why not?  

Have you ever made garlic bread on the grill?   We love making it this way.  First, it takes no time.  You place it on the grates, close the lid, and wait about 5 minutes.  Second, less dishes to wash.  Finally, the flavor is out of this world.  There is something about the flavor of the bread once you’ve placed it  on the grill.

This recipe is one inspired by my friend Laura.  She told me that she’s been making garlic bread with Kings Hawaiian Bread and that she would share the recipe.  I told my husband and he asked that I just wing it because he couldn’t wait.  I’m not sure if it is  exactly how she makes hers, but we love it.   The sweetness of the bread and the crunch of the onion really give a unique twist to an old stand-by.

I’ve adapted the recipe for the oven, but I have yet to make it that way.  We’ve been sticking it on the grill for a few minutes until the cheese has melted.  I’ve even used the leftover garlic bread as a base for an open-faced beef sandwich.

Kings Garlic Bread

  • 1/2 C Butter
  • 2 Cloves Garlic, minced (you can add more if you like it extra garlicy)
  • 1/4 C Red Onion, finely chopped
  • 1 Loaf Kings Hawaiian Bread
  • Provolone Cheese Slices, optional

Slice the bread in half, and cut into one-inch pieces.  Brown the butter, and saute the garlic and onion until almost tender.  Place the bread slices on a cookie sheet and evenly distribute the butter mixture on each piece.  Place the cheese on the bread, if desired.  I actually make a few pieces without the cheese or onion for Meeshie.  Place in a 400 degree oven for about 7 minutes, or until the cheese gets bubbly. 

This makes 8-10 pieces of garlic bread.

5 comments

  1. I love that Hawaiian bread, and to make a garlic bread out of it is so smart! Especially the grilling part. I hate heating up my oven, but my grill is often going.


  2. This sounds incredible! 🙂


  3. Looks fabulous!! And you’re right…there’s something about the flavor of bread that’s different when it’s grilled. It’s just wonderful! Your bread wouldn’t last long in our house. Trust me…my husband and I would gobble it all up!! 🙂


  4. That looks amazing! I actually wish I could stopy by for a piece.
    Allison


  5. Oh my goodness, this looks amazing! I will so have to try this.



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

