h1

Citrus Garlic Shrimp

July 5, 2011

Yesterday was the 4th of July, and like you I had plans.  I had plans to barbecue.  Then I had plans to watch the fireworks in town.  We tailgate with our neighbors every year and enjoy the display.

My plans were altered slightly yesterday morning while I was watching the news.  They showed this wonderfully easy shrimp dish.  I knew I had to alter my plans to make it.  For some reason, though, the recipe wasn’t posted.  No worries, I knew I could recreate it.  I’m so glad I did.

This shrimp dish is so simple and quick.  Although, that is the beauty of shrimp.  It’s a quick meal.  The hardest part is prepping the shrimp, and I’ll admit that I purchased a pound bag of shrimp that was the easy peel.  Please don’t judge, I live in the midwest and sometimes it’s just easier to buy the raw frozen easy peel shrimp.

I love the color in this dish too.  The peppers really make it pop.  We had various other items with this dish yesterday, but this would be awesome on a bed of pasta, or some rice, or a large salad.

Citrus Garlic Shrimp

  • 1 lb Raw Shrimp, cleaned, deveined and peeled (I used a bag of 16/20)
  • 1 Lemon
  • 1 Lime
  • 4 Garlic Cloves, minced
  • 1/4 C Olive Oil
  • 1/2 Red Onion, sliced and quartered
  • 1/2 each of Red, Yellow and Orange Peppers, sliced
  • Truffle Salt and Pepper to taste

Prep the shrimp and set aside.  Juice the lemon and lime and place in a medium-sized bowl.  Add the olive oil, minced garlic, salt and pepper to the juice.  Place the shrimp, peppers and onion in a large bowl, with a lid, or use a large Ziploc bag.  Whisk the juice and oil mixture together and add to the shrimp mixture.  Marinate for one hour.  Do not marinate longer or the shrimp will start to cook.  Take a medium to large-sized foil pan, poke holes in the bottom and place on the grill 15 minutes before you are ready to cook the shrimp.  Add the shrimp to the hot pan and cook until the shrimp is done.  The shrimp will be done once it changes color from grey to pink.

Enjoy!

Next time, I’m adding some fresh basil!

4 comments

  1. I’d change my plans for a dish that looked like that, too. I love all the colors and I love that shrimp dishes are so fast, too. Hope you had a fabulous Fourth!


  2. It looks beautiful, and your idea to add basil next time is a great one! I wish I could try this salad, but sadly, my husband and I are both allergic to shellfish. 😦 Hope you had a wonderful 4th of July!!! Cheers! sheila


  3. I have a passion for seafood…especially shrimp! This looks wonderful!


  4. This sounds delicious and with all those peppers in it, I’m sure it is a treat for the eyes as well. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

