h1

Graduation Time

July 1, 2011

We have a special party to go to this Saturday.  My niece graduated from 8th grade in May and the party is Saturday.  My niece is the oldest of my mother’s six grandchildren and she’s the only grandchild my dad ever met. 

My sister asked me to make cake pops for her party.  I was pretty excited because, although I always bring something to her parties, she rarely requests anything.  Have I mentioned that she’s my favorite sister?  She’s my only sister, but still she’s my favorite one.  We are completely opposite in so many ways.  Nothing bothers her, everything bothers me.  What can I say, but she keeps me sane?  Sometimes you need someone in your life to help you put things back in perspective.  That’s my sister.

I made smiley face cake pops, but I also made these graduation caps.  They were so much fun to make! 

Graduation Caps

  • miniature Reeces Peanut Butter Cups
  • Ghiradelli Chocolate Squares
  • Air Heads Extreme Candy, separated and cut into 1-inch pieces for the tassel
  • Melted Chocolate

Stick the peanut butter cups in the freezer, this will help you unwrap them without them getting overly melted.  ep the sides looking pretty when you do.  After you unwrap them, place all the cups on a cookie sheet  and let them get back to room temperature. When the chill is gone, dip the end of your lollipop stickin some melted chocolate and carefully insert into the candy cups. If they are too cold, the cups will split apart.   For the tops, unwrap the chocolate squares, which I also froze and draw a thin line of melted chocolate on top with a toothpick and glue on a short piece of the candy belt and melted chocolate died to match the candy tassel.   When the tops are dry, glue them on the candy cups using some more of the melted chocolate, insert into a styrofoam block  to finish drying.

Here’s the original.  Bakerella has some great ideas on her site.

 

7 comments

  1. Oh Wow!!! These are just so cute!!!! And they look pretty easy to make too! I’m sure you’re niece (and sister) were thrilled with them! Makes me wish I knew someone who was graduating! 🙂


  2. Those are just adorable! And honestly, from that first pictures I thought it was a picture of actual caps! You did a great job. Congrats to your niece!


  3. These are the cutest! What a great idea! I bet everyone loved them! Congrats to the graduate! Nice job!


  4. What a fantastic idea. The graduate will be thrilled with these and your sister will be very pleased. You are a very thoughtful Aunt. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary


  5. I saw your post for these and knew I had to make them for my both of my niece’s parties! I had left over cake from making cake pops and decided to try my hand at the cake version since their color is crimson and white! It was moderately easy, but after all was said and done, I tried dipping the peanut butter cup and that worked out far better! When I have the batch done, I’ll post pics! 🙂 Cute!


    • Carrie-
      I wanted to make them that way too, but just loved the way the peanut butter cups turned out. I love candy molds and made my own champagne bottles for my wedding reception. Can’t wait to see your pics!
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

