h1

Oh Yeah It’s Caramel Time!

June 24, 2011

I’ve been making a really great treat lately.  It’s so simple.  I love that everything I need is in my pantry.  I made it again after dinner last night because I was looking for something sweet and I whipped this up.

Have you ever browned butter before for a rice krispie treat?  Try it next time and enjoy the flavor.  The browned butter gives this treat a wonderful caramel flavor.

This recipe is a great twist on a rice krispie treat, except you use Cheerios.  This recipe actually calls for Cinnamon Cheerios, but my store doesn’t carry that flavor.The addition of the cinnamon and caramel just add another layer of delicious to this easy treat.

Brown Butter Cinnamon Cheerio Caramel Squares

  • 1/2 C Butter
  • 1-10.5 oz. bag Marshmallows
  • 1/2 t Cinnamon
  • 1/4 t Fine Sea Salt
  • 6 C Cheerios
  • Caramel Sauce for drizzling
  • Additional Salt, if desired

Grease a 9×13 pan.

In a large saucepan, melt the butter.  Heat over medium heat until brown and has a nutty aroma.  While heating, keep a close eye on the butter to prevent it from burning and stir it frequently.  Once the butter is browned, turn off the heat.  Add the marshmallows, cinnamon and salt.  Stir until the marshmallows have melted and then add the cereal.  Spread the cereal mixture in the prepared pan.  Press the mixture down into the pan.  Drizzle with caramel sauce and sprinkle with additional salt.  Let cool and cut into bars.

Makes about 18-24 bars.

Here is the original recipe.  I really love this site.  She has some really great recipes.

4 comments

  1. Looks wonderful! That’s a great idea to brown the butter! I’ll have to try that myself! And I like the idea of making Rice Krispie treats with Cheerios! I have Cheerios on hand frequently but not Rice Krispies. And the cinnamon in it sounds wonderful! 🙂


  2. This looks great! I am totally going to have to try this. That, and the browned butter with the regular rice crispies. After which I will feed them to my best friends husband as he is a rice crispy expert 🙂 Can’t wait to try this!


  3. Omg this recipe is CRAZY! I have to try it 😀


  4. These look delicious! I love browned butter and I’ve been intrigued by the idea of putting it in rice krispie treats. The cheerios (and the cinnamon cheerios) idea sounds wonderful!



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

