h1

Ah Strawberries!

June 19, 2011

Happy  Father’s Day!

My friend Kathy sent me this wonderful recipe.  As soon as I saw it I knew I needed to make it for today.  I’ll admit that the amount of lemon zest made me do a double take.  I thought it might be too overpowering.  Not so!  Kathy said it was so refreshing and different.  I totally agree.   She also said it was a bowl of deliciousness.  It’s a perfect pairing to any summer gathering, BBQ, or mid-week meal.

I would really like to give this a try with raspberries, blackberries, or blueberries.  Or all the berries together.  This dish is really making me wish it was July.  July is, of course, blueberry picking.  I have fresh blueberries in the freezer from last year, but they would be too soggy, and because I have so many pounds in the freezer I can’t break down and buy any at the store.  I do know that my next trip to Costco will  definitely include raspberries and blackberries.

Oh and after enjoying some grilled meats and various sides, this dish is going to taste wonderful with some sugar cream pie.

Lemon Strawberries

  • 2 lbs Strawberries, cleaned, trimmed and quartered
  • 1 Lemon
  • 1/4 C Sugar, I actually used slightly less than a 1/4 C, but use as much as you want

Place the strawberries in a bowl.  Zest the entire lemon on top of the berries, then juice the lemon into the bowl (roll the lemon on the counter before juicing to maximize your juice yield).  Add the sugar and stir.

This will serve about 6 people.

Here’s the original.

5 comments

  1. Aren’t they so delicious? My neighbor just dropped off a huge bucket of freshly picked strawberries….you can guess what I did with them! I did this to a pint of blueberries too. You’re going to LOVE blueberries this way! So glad you liked them!


  2. What a great idea! I love how simple it is. You’re right – I think blueberries would be amazing, too!


  3. Hi Karen, I actually liked the rosemary in the shortbread and so did most of the girls that made this dessert. Hope you give it a try. Oh…and your strawberries sound wonderful!


  4. I usually do something similar to this, but without the lemon…I’ll have to try that!


  5. Strawberries are definitely in vogue…wait a second, in season 🙂



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

