h1

C is for Coffee Cake

June 15, 2011

I found this recipe for this really awesome puff loaf and when I read the post it had me nodding my head.  It started something like do you ever wake up in a baking mood?  I do.  I do a lot.  Baking is one of my favorite things to do.  I like to do other things, of course, like read or run, but baking is tops on my list.

I love this coffee cake because it also reminded me of cream puffs or eclairs.  Have you ever made either of those treats?  They are really simple to make, but the reason they are so puffy is because of the cooking technique used.  You make a flour paste on the stove and slowly add eggs to the paste and then bake the mixture.  The technique is what gives the pastry its puffiness.  It has a crunchy layer on the bottom and then this great puff layer.  So good.

When I made this, we ate it for breakfast.  Don’t judge, I did that on purpose.  Besides, you’ve never eaten coffee cake for breakfast?  Yes you have.  It’s designed to be eaten with your coffee.

Almond Puff Loaf

  • First Layer
  • 1/2 C Butter, cut into pats or 1/2-inch cubes
  • 1 C All-Purpose Flour
  • 1/4 C Water
  • Second Layer
  • 1 C Water
  • 1/2 C Butter
  • 1 C All-Purpose Flour
  • 3 large eggs, at room temperature; warm them, in the shell, in hot tap water for 10 minutes if they’re cold from the fridge
  • 1 t Almond Extract
  • Topping
  • 2/3 C Pastry filling (Solo) of your choice-I used raspberry, but use whatever you like.  Apricot would really be good with this.
  • Icing
  • 1/2 C confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 t Almond Extract
  • 3-4 t Milk

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line a large cookie sheet with parchment paper.

First layer: In a medium-sized mixing bowl, combine the butter, flour,  working the butter into the flour with a pastry blender or fork, your fingers, or a mixer. Mix until everything is crumbly, then stir in the water. The dough will become cohesive, though not smooth.  Divide the dough in half and place on the prepared cookie sheet. Shape each piece of this wet dough into a rough log. Pat, the logs, with a rubber spatula, into 10″ x 3″ rectangles on the sheet, leaving at least 4″ (but preferably 6″) between them, and 2″ on each side. These puff up in the oven (hence the name), and you need to leave them room for expansion.

Second layer: In a medium-sized saucepan, bring the water and butter to a boil. Stir until the butter melts, then add the flour all at once. Stir the mixture with a spoon until it thickens, begins to steam, and leaves the sides of the pan; this will happen very quickly.  Set aside for at least 5 minutes.  Transfer the dough to a mixing bowl. Beat it at medium speed for 30 seconds to 1 minute, to allow it to cool down some more.  I actually beat the mixture by hand with a whisk during this stage-everyone was sleeping and I didn’t want to wake them.  Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition; beat until the dough loses its “slimy” look, and each egg is totally absorbed. Mix in the almond extract.   Divide the batter in half. Spread half the batter over one of the dough strips on the pan, covering it completely. Repeat with the remaining batter and dough.  With a rubber spatula spread the batter until it completely covers the entire bottom layer of dough. Smooth it out as best you can.  Bake the pastry for 25 minutes.  After 25 minutes remove from the stove and spread the pastry filling equally over each loaf.  Return the coffee cake to the oven and continue to bake for another 25 minutes.  You may have to cook them for another 10 minutes (the total cooking time is between 50 minutes to 1 hour), they should be a deep golden brown and puffy when done. Remove it from the oven, and transfer each pastry to a wire rack.

Topping: Mix the sugar, almond extract and milk together.  Drizzle on the warm coffee cake.

Here’s the original.

2 comments

  1. This really look sdelicious and it is something you don’t see every day. I like to try new things. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary


  2. It looks wonderful, and I’m sure the almond extract adds a great flavor! I bookmarked the the recipe so I can try it one of these days.

    I’m usually always in the baking mood, and since I’ve never tried making my own puff pastry, I really want to try this! 🙂 thanks so much for sharing the recipe! 🙂



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

