h1

Warm Green Bean Salad

June 12, 2011

I found this recipe for warm green bean salad in an issue of Everyday Food.  It was a suggested that the salad be served with steak.  I made it with a thin sirloin strip steak that I had cut in 4-inch strips.  But this salad would be great with chicken breasts or some salmon.

The recipe called for a can of cannellini beans which I didn’t have, so I added the pine nuts.  It also suggested that the tomatoes be added when you add the garlic, but my husband is not a fan of warm tomatoes, plus when you add the tomatoes to the warm green beans, they do get warmed through.

I loved the flavor of this salad.  I loved the use of the green beans.  My husband and Meeshie loved it too.  Fresh veggies served in a way that everyone loved?  That’s a win in my book!

Oh, and did I mention it is one of those dishes that is done in no time?  The salad only took about 15 minutes from start to finish.  Love something tasty and quick during the week, especially during the summer.  Next time I make this I’m going to throw it all on the grill.  I recently bought a wonderful cast iron pan from Crate and Barrel that would work really well for this recipe, but then in the summer there isn’t too much I won’t cook on the grill instead of using the stove.

Warm Green Bean Salad

  • 1 T Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 3/4 lb Green Beans, trimmed and cut into 1-inch pieces.
  • 2 Garlic Cloves, sliced thin
  • 8 oz Grape Tomatoes
  • 1/4 C Pine Nuts
  • 1 T Balsamic Vinegar (I used a fig flavored one)
  • Handful of fresh Basil, torn
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Heat the oil in a skillet.  Add the green beans and cook for 2 minutes.  Add the garlic and the pine nuts and cook for another 3 minutes, keeping an eye on the pine nuts so that they don’t get over brown.  Add the vinegar, tossing thoroughly.  Remove from the heat, add the tomatoes and basil.  Toss in a bowl, add truffle salt and pepper to taste.

Serves 4 generously.

10 comments

  1. I love new ways to eat veggies. The colors are beautiful, too. I’m always impressed with how good Meeshie is about eating vegetables. I wish my husband were that good. 🙂


    • Nicole-
      The secret is truffle salt. She’ll eat almost any veggie as long as I sprinkle on some truffle salt.
      Karen


  2. I am making this tonight for dinner. I am doubling the recipe in order to feed the four boys. I bought the cannellini beans and I will be adding the tomatoes to the pan to get warm. I’ll let you know.


    • Cathy-
      Please let me know how you liked the cannellini beans!
      Karen


  3. Great recipe and it goes perfectly with what I currently have a lot of in my garden: green beans and cherry tomatoes. Thank you for posting the perfect summer side dish recipe!


    • I’m so jealous that you have green beans. I don’t have the room, but I’m hoping that we expand the garden next year. I buy the green beans from Costco, but nothing like eating them from your own garden,
      Karen


  4. Karen,
    I’m planning on making this on Wednesday night. We are going to friends for dinner. I have fresh green beans from Costco, do I cook them before I add them to the oil, or do I add them fresh and crunchy to the oil?
    Thank you!
    Denise


    • Denise-
      I too used the green beans from Costco! Love them! No, you’ll cook them in the pan. Just prep them and then add them “fresh and crunchy to the oil”. I would also say that I would suggest you don’t double the recipe. This makes a generous and wonderful salad.
      Karen


  5. Great! I will tell you how it turns out. I’m going to use the beans instead of the pine nuts.
    Have a great day!


  6. I made this last night and it was a hit!! Very easy to make. And all the tastes in your mouth were delicious!



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

