h1

Not Your Typical Zucchini Bread

June 7, 2011

I work with a girl with a food allergy.  It’s not just any food allergy either, she has an allergy to red food dye.  If she ingests it, she gets sick.  If it’s in a lotion, she gets a horrible rash.  And once you are aware of it, red dye is in a lot of things.  She celebrated her birthday last week and I wanted to bring in a treat that she could enjoy.  She, in turn, requested that I make my blueberry zucchini bread.

This bread was perfect for her, no red dye.  It was also perfect for me. I had just enough zucchini from last year’s garden left in the freezer.  I also have some blueberries left from our annual blueberry picking excursion.

I’ve shared this one before but it is such a moist and delicious recipe that it’s worth sharing again.  The topping is too good and if you have a nut allergy you can easily omit the nuts and still enjoy the yummy goodness of the topping.

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

  • 3 whole Eggs Beaten
  • 1 cup Vegetable Oil
  • 3 teaspoons Vanilla Extract
  • 2 cups Sugar
  • 1/4 cup Brown Sugar
  • 3 cups Zucchini, Shredded
  • 3 cups All-purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • ¼ teaspoons Baking Soda
  • 1 Tablespoon Ground Cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon Nutmeg
  • 1 pint Fresh Blueberries
  • _____
  • FOR THE TOPPING:
  • ½ cups Flour
  • ¼ cups Brown Sugar
  • ¼ cups Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • ½ cups Pecans, Chopped
  • ½ cups Butter, Softened

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease bread pans.

In a large bowl, beat the eggs, oil, vanilla and sugar. Fold in the zucchini. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and nutmeg, leaving 2 tablespoons of flour on reserve. Add the dry ingredients to the egg mixture.

Dust the reserved 2 tablespoons of flour over the blueberries to coat. This will ensure that they do not sink to the bottom of the pan. Gently fold in the blueberries. Pour the batter into the bread pans.

Make the crumb topping by combining the flour, sugars, cinnamon, pecans and butter together with your hands. Sprinkle over the top of the loaves.

Bake for 50 -60 minutes until a knife inserted in the center of the loaf comes out clean. Cool for about 20 minutes in the pans before turning onto a wire rack to cool completely.

This recipe makes two loaves.

Julies Eats and Treats! Has some more amazing zucchini recipes.  Please check them out!

14 comments

  1. I can’t imagine being allergic to red dye – you’re right that it probably is in a lot of things. I wouldn’t have even thought of the lotion problem. I also had never thought to put blueberries in zucchini bread – terrific idea! It looks delicious.


    • Nicole-
      It’s amazing what has red dye in it, box cake mix comes to mind.
      Karen


  2. Since you gave me this recipe, this is the only way I will make zucchini bread! This is so good, everyone loves it at work too!
    Carol


    • Carol-
      I’m so glad that you like it.
      Karen


  3. Oh my goodness gracious me, this looks amazing! I cannot wait to try this.


    • I must confess that I tell my daughter it’s blueberry bread. She likes zucchini, but not in this form.
      Karen


  4. What a wonderful recipe!!! I’ve never had a blueberry zucchini bread before, but I’m bookmarking it so I can try it this summer! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe! 🙂


    • Sheila-
      Enjoy and thanks for the kind words.
      Karen


  5. Oh this looks so yummy! I’ve never tried zucchini bread with blueberries. Looks like an awesome twist to the recipe. Thanks for linking up 🙂


  6. Looks great! Have to make it soon 🙂 Saw your post on Julie’s Eats & Treats!!


  7. YUMMMMMMMY LOOKING-FOUND U THRU BLOGHOP!!!


  8. […] distract her for a little bit.  Meeshie loves blueberries and since I’ve been making the zucchini blueberry bread for so long, I thought I would make this.  Oh, it doesn’t help that I haven’t gotten […]


  9. […] Meeshie’s teachers I made mini Blueberry Zucchini Bread and Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread. GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", […]


  10. […] shared my blueberry zucchini recipe before. This time I found a wonderful chocolate zucchini bread that is out of this world. […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

