h1

Let’s Not Forget

May 29, 2011

The Moving Vietnam Memorial Wall is in my town this weekend.  The rain has not let up here and we pushed through the mud and rain to see it, along with many others.  I really wanted my daughter to see this awesome wall.  It’s a half-size replica of the memorial in Washington DC.

I don’t really feel I need to say much more than that.  If you have the opportunity to see the moving wall, or the actual one, please do.  It’s awe-inspiring.  My father never served in Vietnam, although he was of the age, do to his 4-F status.  He worked for the railroad and was standing between two cars, when they moved and went right through him.  He was lucky to live through that ordeal and as a result, he was 4-F.

My best friend’s dad was a vet though, and he told us many stories.  Some that made us laugh and many that made us cry.  It’s people like him, and all the people in the military that make this country so great.

So while you heat up that grill this weekend and enjoy your extra day off, don’t forget the reason why we celebrate.

Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

