h1

Put a Little Crunch in Your Morning

May 18, 2011

I’ve shared this recipe before, but feel it’s worthy of a repeat.

I love french toast.  It’s one of my favorite breakfast foods.  I love it more than pancakes, although I make pancakes more often than french toast.  This recipe is so good that I haven’t made french toast any other way in a very long time.  The extra crunch from the cereal really takes the french toast to another level of goodness.

I saw this on a Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives show and knew that I had to make them.  Two great breakfast treats rolled into one.  Who doesn’t love Captain Crunch Cereal or french toast?  The hint of nutmeg, cinnamon and vanilla really make this a wonderful breakfast treat.

Crispy French Toast

  • 12 pieces Texas Toast Style Bread
  • 4 whole Eggs
  • 1-½ C Milk
  • 1-½ t Vanilla
  • 4 C Captain Crunch Cereal
  • 2 t Cinnamon
  • 1 t Nutmeg
  • Butter, For The Pan

Beat the eggs, milk and vanilla together. Set aside.

Place the cereal, nutmeg and cinnamon in a gallon sized bag. Crush the cereal into a course consistency. I used the heel of my hand to crush the cereal. Shake the bag to mix the spices with the cereal.

Place some butter on your skillet/pan and turn on the heat to medium. Sprinkle the cereal mixture onto a plate. Dunk the bread in the egg mixture on both sides. Place the bread on the cereal and press into the cereal. Flip the bread and repeat. Place the bread on the skillet and cook for about 4 minutes. Because you are using the Texas toast make sure the side is really brown before flipping. Cook on the other side the same way.

Serve with butter and syrup.

If you have extra you can easily freeze this by sticking the bread on a cookie sheet for about an hour in the freezer and then putting them in a gallon sized bag so they don’t stick together.  Then you can enjoy this treat during the work week!

6 comments

  1. What a great idea! I bet my husband would love this because he’s a texture eater and doesn’t like when french toast is soggy. I’m glad you are sharing it again!


    • Nicole-
      I think that your husband will be in for a real treat.
      Karen


  2. This is really a great idea and it looks delicious. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary


  3. I actually have never heard of this combination before. It certainly looks like it works. I plan to try this when my grandsons are visiting. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary


    • Mary-
      I hope you enjoy them. You may end up making them even when the grandsons aren’t there!
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

