h1

An Unusual Twist On An Old Favorite

April 21, 2011

I came across this recipe last week and knew I had to try it.  The unusual preparation really caught my attention. 

Let me also state that Meeshie is not a fan of mac and cheese unless it comes in the blue box.  That’s not only sad, but frustrating.  There are so many great mac and cheese recipes out there that I look at, wishing I could make them.  And I guess that I could, but that’s a lot of mac and cheese.

This recipe is unique because you boil the noodles in milk and you don’t make a roux.  Dont worry though, it’s still creamy and thick without the roux. 

The best part was, Meeshie enjoyed it.  She still insists the blue box is the best, but she ate this up!

Let me also point out that I used penne pasta because I didn’t have any elbow macaroni.  I also used two kinds of cheese, sharp cheddar and Dubliner Irish cheese.  I wanted to use up the Dubliner cheese that I had in the fridge so that’s why I used two cheeses.  And because I did that, I placed some cheddar cheese on top of the macaroni before putting it into the oven.  I also used a very small amount of bread crumbs and would probably skip them next time.

Oh, and did also mention this recipe is pretty easy?

Civil War Mac and Cheese

  • 4 C Milk
  • 2 C Elbow Macaroni
  • 4 T Butter
  • 2 C, packed, grated cheddar cheese
  • Freshly Ground Black Pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 t Nutmeg
  • 1/4 C Bread Crumbs
  • Salt, for the macaroni

Heat the milk and salt in a large saucepan until steamy. Stir in the dry macaroni and let the milk come to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer.  Pay attention while the macaroni is cooking in the milk as the milk may foam up and boil over.  Cook the macaroni for about 15 minutes or until done, the macaroni will absorb most of the milk.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  As soon as the macaroni is done, remove from the pan and put inside a casserole dish.  In the used sauce pan, place the butter and stir in the grated cheese, pepper and nutmeg.  Once the cheese has melted, pour the sauce into the macaroni and milk mixture and stir to combine.  Sprinkle with bread crumbs and bake for 20 minutes or until top is lightly browned.

Serve with a salad or use this dish as a side instead of potatoes.

Here’s the original.

4 comments

  1. just a visitor from pwsux…..
    I saw this mac and cheese recipe earlier in the week and was intrigued. I might have to give it a try!
    I’m still searching for the “perfect” homemade mac and cheese recipe that doesn’t have $30 of cheese in it.


    • Juli-
      Me too that’s why I made it.
      Karen


  2. […] An Unusual Twist On An Old Favorite « Meeshiesmom's Blog I also used two kinds of cheese, sharp cheddar and Dubliner Irish cheese I wanted to use up the Dubliner cheese that I had in the fridge so that's why I used two cheeses. And because I did that, I placed some cheddar cheese on top of . […]


  3. […] my original post.  As you can see, I’ve stop using the butter because I leave enough milk in the pot to help […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

