h1

A Great Morning

April 10, 2011

When I was first married, there was a grocery store we used to frequent that made the best almond poppy seed muffins.  My husband and I loved those muffins. 

We ate them a lot.  As a matter of fact I failed a random drug screen because of one of those muffins.  So I suggest that you may want to enjoy these babies in moderation.

I came across this recipe while searching for things to make for Easter brunch this year.  I love to serve muffins for brunch.  You can easily make them ahead and they’re a great finger food.  I made these for breakfast this morning and they were wonderful.  As good as I remember from when I was first married. 

I had to make them in the large muffin tin, as well as the regular sized one.  I also made them without a liner.  You can make them with a liner, but to me a muffin stands alone and the liner is for a cupcake.  If you like it with a liner I won’t judge.

Almond Poppy Seed Muffins 

  • 1 C Butter, softened
  • 1 C Brown Sugar
  • 1 T Almond Extract
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 ¼ C Flour
  • ¾ t Baking Soda
  • ¾ t Baking Powder
  • ½ t Fine Sea Salt
  • 2 T Poppy Seeds, rounded
  • 1 1/2 C Half and Half (a little more if batter seems too dry)
  • ½ cup sliced almonds, plus additional for the top

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In the bowl of a standing mixer, cream together the butter and sugar until fluffy.  Add the extract and the eggs and combine until creamy.  In a separate bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Add half of the dry ingredients to the butter mixture and mix, then half of the liquid and mix, continue until both the dry and wet are incorporated.  Add the almonds and stir until just incorporated.  Scoop into greased muffin tins.  Sprinkle the top with sliced almonds.  Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until baked through and the tops are just golden brown.  If you use the Texas size muffin tins, bake for about 30-40 minutes. 

Makes about 2 dozen regular size muffins and 1 dozen Texas sized ones.

Here’s the original.

4 comments

  1. Glad you like them!! Yours turned out beautifully! I will try them without a liner next time!!


    • Heather-
      Thanks for posting and the kind words.
      Karen


  2. Delicious! When I was first married my husband requested that I make some lemon poppyseed muffins like Costco makes. After four failed attempts, we finally realized that Costco doesn’t make lemon poppyseed muffins. They make almond ones. I gave up at that point, but seeing this recipe is inspiring me to surprise him with them.


    • Nicole-
      I love that! Why won’t husbands just listen to us more? Hope you enjoy.
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

