h1

Sunshine

April 7, 2011

 

I’m trying to be patient about spring.  I really am.  I miss spring.  It seems like every year we have a little less of it.  We go from winter, to crappy inconsistent weather to hot and humid.  Oh, we have a nice day or two, but not what I would call spring.

So I’m recycling a recipe that I posted last year.

This recipe for lemon triangles, or squares if you cut them that way, is the best one I’ve ever had.  Lots of lemons in there to give it the best lemon flavor.  When I make these, I need to hide them from my husband.  I don’t do that too often, which says a lot more about him than it does about me.  I say that because he enjoys everything that I make but he does it in moderation.  He knows his limits, I know he has to due to his diabetes, but still I’m impressed. 

Lemon Triangles

  • FOR THE CRUST:
  • 1-¾ C Flour
  • ⅔ C Powdered Sugar
  • ¼ C Cornstarch
  • ¾ t Salt
  • 1-½ stick Unsalted Butter
  • _____
  • FOR THE FILLING:
  • 6 whole Eggs Room Temperature
  • 3 C Sugar
  • Zest from 2 Lemons
  • 1 C Lemon Juice (from About 7 Lemons)
  • 1 C Flour

Preheat the oven to 350°. Lightly butter a 13 x 9 inch baking sheet and line with parchment paper, allowing the paper to come up the sides of the pan.

Pulse the flour, powdered sugar, cornstarch and salt in a food processor or use a pastry cutter. Slice the butter into 1-inch pieces. Add the butter blend until the mixture is pale yellow and resembles coarse meal. Sprinkle the mixture into the lined pan and press firmly with your fingers to form an even, 1/4-inch layer over the entire pan bottom. Refrigerate for 30 minutes, and bake for about 20-25 minutes, until golden brown.

Meanwhile, whisk together the eggs, sugar, lemon zest, lemon juice and flour. Pour over the warm crust and bake for 30 to 35 minutes, until the filling is set. Let cool to room temperature (or refrigerate overnight in the pan). Using the parchment to pull it out of the pan, transfer to a cutting board and peel the paper down. Using a sharp knife, cut into 20 squares. Then cut each square diagonally to form 40 triangles.

Here’s the original recipe.

Here’s the original post.

2 comments

  1. Lemon flavored things always remind me of spring. This looks delicious.


    • Nicole-
      I know lemon does always remind me of spring. I hope the weather is better by you!
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

