h1

A Weekday Pasta

April 5, 2011

Do you ever get in a pasta funk?  I do.  We love pasta, but sometimes I feel like I’m making the same dish all the time.  You know, like Wednesday is Prince spaghetti day.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to know the day of the week by what we are eating.  Sure, I like to plan meals ahead so I can adjust my trip to the grocery store, but I do like my variety too.

This is a great pasta dish using bowtie pasta.  It’s a perfect complement to the chicken pieces and the mushrooms.  I also like this dish because you’re only using one large skillet.  I’ve also made this dish and added about 1/2 C of half and half to the sauce. 

Quick, easy and hearty, what more could you ask for during the week?

Chicken with Bowties

  • 1 lb Mushrooms
  • 3 T Olive Oil
  • 2 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts, cut into chunks
  • 1 Small Onion, diced
  • 1 lb Farfalle (Bowtie Pasta)
  • 1 C Red Wine
  • 1/2 C Parmesan Cheese, grated
  • Fresh Parsley
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Prepare the pasta according to directions.

In a large skillet, heat 2 T olive oil and add the chicken, salt and pepper.  Cook the chicken until browned, about 5 minutes.  Remove the chicken from the pan.  Add the remaining olive oil and the onion and cook for 2 minutes.  Add the mushrooms to the skillet and cook until tender, stirring frequently.  Slowly add the wine and heat to boiling.  Boil for 2 minutes.  Add the chicken and cook for another 2 minutes or until chicken turns opaque.  Add parsley and parmesan and pasta.  Toss and serve.

 A perfect pairing with some crusty bread and some salad.

8 comments

  1. Yummm this looks good. Everything I like in one dish. I’m going to try this one!


  2. Oh, yeah…. Happy Birthday! 🙂
    Hope you had a great day yesterday.


  3. I get in pasta ruts all the time! This looks like a great way to get out of one. I just love mushrooms with pasta.


    • Nicole-
      I’m glad that I’m not the only one! And I agree, I LOVE mushrooms in pasta.
      Karen


  4. Sounds delicious! I’m at a point in my “winter cooking” repetoire, where I’m just tired of cooking the same old stuff. I’m looking forward to summer and lighter meals.


    • Kathy-
      I totally agree! And this weather-ugh! I wish it would make up its mind.
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

