h1

Spanakopita

March 27, 2011

I love spanakopita.  I was introduced to this dish back in high school.  One of my good friend’s, at the time, mother made the best spanakopita.  The phyllo dough, spinach and dill really make this dish.  I don’t even mind that there’s feta in there.  It’s the perfect meatless meal.

I used to buy it from Trader Joe’s, and their version is pretty good, but now I don’t have to. 

I was able to make the filling a few days before assembly which made assembly a breeze.  This actually makes enough for two baking dishes.  I stick one in the freezer.  The other thing that I do is fold the phyllo in half to fit inside the dish therefore doubling each layer.  (There are about 24 sheets in a box.  I used 6 sheets for each layer which equaled 12.)  You can use butter instead of olive oil, but the oil is easier to work with on the dough.

Spanakopita

  • 1 pkg Phyllo Dough (#4)
  • Olive Oil
  • 2 lbs fresh Spinach, washed, trimmed and chopped
  • 8 Green Onion, chopped
  • 1/2 C Fresh Dill, chopped
  • 12 oz Feta Cheese, crumbled
  • 2 Eggs, beaten
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

For the filling:  Heat a large skillet and add olive oil.  Add the spinach and saute until wilted.  Remove from pan and place in a large bowl.  Add the green onion to the pan and saute for about 4 minutes.  Add the onion to the spinach along with the dill, cheese and eggs.  Combine well and add the salt and pepper.  Set aside to cool. 

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Unwrap the phyllo dough on a flat surface and cover with a damp towel.  Oil a baking dish.  Place half of the sheets in the bottom of the dish, brushing each sheet with olive oil as it is added.  Add the filling and then spread the remaining phyllo dough on top, again brushing each sheet with olive oil as it is added.  Cut into squares before baking and score the top in the shape of a triangle.  You can cut it into triangles if you wish to serve this as an appetizer, but if eaten as a meal I like to make them into squares.

Bake for 40-45 minutes or until the top is golden brown.

You can serve this hot or cold with your favorite salad.

2 comments

  1. I love spanakopita but I’ve never been brave enough to try making my own. Thanks for sharing a recipe for it!


    • Nicole-
      It’s soo easy! Let me know how it works out.
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

