h1

Banana Cream Pie

March 22, 2011

It seems like I’m on a pie kick, but really I’m not.  I did make this pie after seeing Hoosier Mama on television.  I liked that she mashed the bananas up and incorporated them into the pie.  I really don’t like banana cream pies that have the bananas sliced on the bottom of the pie.  Banana cream pie should really scream banana, right?

So I found a recipe that I thought I could use and tweaked it to my liking.  Loved this pie.  Truly this was so yummy.  We topped it with some whipped cream and slivered almonds.  But I can also see that you could crush some banana chips and place them on top. 

I used the same blind baking method for the pie crust as I do with the sugar cream pie.  Coffee filter and beans on the bottom of the pie and cook it in a 400 degree oven for about 20-25 minutes. 

It’s best to make this pie on the morning you plan to serve it.  When the custard was still warmish I asked my husband to sample it and he didn’t like it.  Once the custard cooled down though, everyone was digging in and demanding seconds. 

Meeshie thought this was awesome.  It was.

This is a close second to the sugar cream pie and if you like bananas you are going to love this pie.

Banana Cream Pie

  • 1 whole Pie Crust, Baked
  • 3 C Half and Half
  • ¾ C Sugar
  • ⅓ C All-purpose Flour
  • ¼ t Salt
  • 3 whole Egg Yolks
  • 2 T Butter
  • 2 t Vanilla
  • 4-5 Very Ripe Bananas, mashed
  • Fresh Whipped Cream, For Topping

Have your baked 9-inch pie shell ready (if you buy store-bought, get a good one. But really, making your own is much better)

In a large saucepan, scald the milk by heating it until it just begins to boil. Combine the sugar, flour and salt and then gradually stir into the scalded milk. Over medium heat, stirring constantly, cook until thickened.

Combine the 3 egg yolks in a small bowl and beat lightly. Stir a small amount of the hot mixture into beaten yolks; then when thoroughly combined, stir the yolks into the hot mixture – this prevents the eggs from scrambling in the custard. Cook for one minute longer, stirring constantly.

Remove from heat and blend in the butter and vanilla. Allow to sit until lukewarm and add the mashed bananas. Pour mixture into prepared pie crust.  Allow to set in the refrigerator for at least an hour. Top pie with fresh whipped cream and slivered almonds, if desired.

Here’s the original recipe.

4 comments

  1. Mashing the bananas up is so smart! I like the idea of them incorporated with the rest of the pie.


  2. Ah! I found it! Your blog is really easy to navigate (yay!). I’ll try this one next time!



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

