h1

Heavenly Pie

March 10, 2011

I discovered this pie while watching Chicago’s Best.  We really enjoy that show.  It showcases some great places to eat throughout Chicago and it has Brittney Payton.  She’s the daughter of Chicago Bear Walter Payton, and you can see that she’s having a ton of fun.  Each week the show highlights either an area or cuisine, like pies.

Now I love a good pie, as much as the next person, I really do.  But as a child I don’t really remember my mom whipping up any family pie recipes.  Here’s a secret I need to share, polacks aren’t pie makers.  Pies are the backbone of America-baseball and apple pie, right?  If the stories I heard as a child were correct, my mom’s family owned a bakery in Poland, we just didn’t make pie.

Okay, back to the pie.  It peaked my interest because according to the show it’s the state pie of Indiana.  As a matter of fact, it’s a local legend in Indiana.  I’ve never heard of sugar cream pie before I saw this show, but once I saw it I had to have it.  So it was either head over to Hoosier Mama, or make some pie.

I opted for making the pie, actually I made three small pies.  I was thinking portion control.  A large pie can be a pain to maintain with three people.  When I say pain, I really mean it’s hell on my will power knowing a half eaten pie is sitting around waiting to be finished off.  Anyway, the picture at the top of the post is all we have left.  This pie tastes like caramel in a crust.  I’m not even giving it the proper justice.  Just try the pie or watch the video of the pie and then make the pie.

I used pie crust that I have and keep in the freezer, but this pie crust is the one that they use on all their pies.  The owner of Hoosier Mama uses depression era cookbooks for her recipes and has tweaked her pie crust recipe to perfection.  I’m planning to give hers a try once I’ve gotten through my own.

Hoosier Sugar Cream Pie

  • Crust
  • 1 T red wine vinegar
  • 1 C plus 3 T all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 1/2 t granulated sugar
  • 7 T unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch cubes; 4 T chilled, 3 T frozen for 15 minutes
  • Filling:
  • 1/2 C granulated sugar
  • 1/2 C packed dark brown sugar
  • 2 T all-purpose flour
  • 2 C heavy cream
  • 1 t vanilla extract

Prepare the crust: Combine the vinegar with 1/2 cup ice water in a small bowl.

Pulse the flour, salt and sugar in a  food processor until combined. Add the 4 tablespoons chilled butter and pulse until the butter is in pea-sized clumps and the mixture is sandy. Add the 3 tablespoons frozen butter; pulse until the frozen butter is also in pea-sized clumps. Add 5 tablespoons of the vinegar mixture; pulse 2 or 3 more times. Squeeze a small amount of dough between your fingers. If it does not stay together easily, add 1 more tablespoon of the vinegar mixture and pulse 3 or 4 more times. (Do not let the dough come together.) Turn the dough out onto a clean surface and gather into a lumpy ball; flatten into a disk, wrap in plastic and refrigerate at least 1 hour or overnight.

On a floured surface, roll the dough into a 12-inch circle, about -inch thick. Fit into an 8-inch pie plate and trim the extra dough, leaving a 1-inch overhang; reserve trimmings. Fold the edges under the rim and crimp. Refrigerate the crust until firm, 20 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Line the chilled crust with foil, or a coffee filer(s), and fill with pie weights or dry beans. Bake until the edges are golden, 15 minutes. Remove the foil and weights; continue baking until the center of the crust is dry and golden brown, about 12 minutes. Cool slightly on a wire rack. Cover any cracks in the crust with the dough trimmings before filling.

Prepare the filling: Whisk the sugars and the flour in a medium bowl, breaking up any clumps of brown sugar. Combine the heavy cream and vanilla in a separate bowl and slowly whisk into the sugar mixture until smooth. Pour the filling into the prepared crust; bake until the pie begins to set around the edge but is still slightly wobbly in the middle, 40 minutes. (Tent loosely with foil for the last 10 minutes if the crust gets too dark.) Cool to room temperature, then refrigerate until ready to serve. Dust with confectioners’ sugar before slicing, if desired.

I never got around to dusting the sugar on the pie, and I don’t think I really missed it.

Here’s the original.

8 comments

  1. Wow, what a unique pie! It sounds delicious.


    • Nicole-
      It is unique! I love that it only has 5 ingredients, although if you google it you will find ones with more than that. My husband thinks it tastes like pecan pie without the pecans, but I disagree. I think most pecan pie tastes too eggy. This is very caramel tasting.
      Karen


  2. Cute pie dish? Did you get it from Crate & Barrel? I have a loaf pan that looks very similar.


    • Kathy-
      Yep! They’re the mini pie dishes from C&B. I looked at the loaf pans but thought they were too small for my use. I bought other ones too that look less pie dishlike that I plan to use get double duty out of, dips and pies. I got them on clearance, too. C&B has great dishes at great prices unlike Williams Sonoma. Oh, and the pie is awesome! I made it yesterday for company and there is only one piece left.
      Karen


  3. […] used the same blind baking method for the pie crust as I do with the sugar cream pie.  Coffee filter and beans on the bottom of the pie and cook it in a 400 degree oven for about […]


  4. Quick question: is the oven kept at 400 when baking with the filling?


    • Catherine-
      Yes, you cook the pie at 400 for about 40-45 minutes, until it starts to set around the sides.
      Karen


  5. […] Oh and after enjoying some grilled meats and various sides, this dish is going to taste wonderful with some sugar cream pie. […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

