h1

A Great Morning

March 3, 2011

This morning I thought I would talk about pancakes.  I’ve talked about them before, but we really love them and this mix is so easy.  My friend Cathy gave me the recipe and I’ve tweaked to our tastes.  You can make them as is, or add blueberries, or chocolate chips, or bananas, or raspberries.  You can add pumpkin, or almonds too. 

They are light and fluffy and easy to freeze for an awesome mid-week breakfast.

Dry Pancake Mix

  • 6 C flour (all-purpose)
  • 1 1/2 t baking soda
  • 3 t baking powder
  • 1 T kosher salt
  • 2 T sugar
  • 2 T cinnamon
  • 1 t nutmeg

Combine all the ingredients together and store in a container with a secure lid.  The mix will store for about 3 months.

When you’re ready to make pancakes, take the mix out of the pantry and prepare.

Pancakes

  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 2 C buttermilk
  • 4 T melted butter
  • 2 C pancake mix
  • 1 t vanilla
  • butter for the pan

In a small bowl, whisk the egg whites and then add the buttermilk.  (I don’t normally keep buttermilk in the house.  Since we are skim milk drinkers, I put about 1/4 C of sour cream in a liquid measuring cup and fill the rest with the skim milk.  Then I whisk the mixture together to get the thick consistency of buttermilk.  I know about the vinegar added to the milk but I like this better.)  In another bowl, whisk the egg yolks with the melted butter.  Combine the buttermilk mixture with the egg yolk mixture.  Add the vanilla and whisk together until thoroughly combined. 

In a separate bowl, add the dry pancake mix.  Pour the liquid ingredients over the dry mix.  Using a whisk, mix the batter just enough to bring it together. 

Prepare a frying pan or electric skillet.  The griddle is ready when a few drops of water dances across the surface.  Lightly butter the pan.  Gently ladle the batter on the griddle.    You can use whatever you like to measure them onto the pan.  I use a gravy ladle.

2 comments

  1. What a great mix to have on hand! These look delicious and fluffy.


    • Nicole-
      They are. I hope you enjoy them.
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

