h1

Another Great Drink

March 1, 2011

I made this over the summer while making lemoncello and just realized I never shared.

I even gave it away as gifts.

By now, I think you know our love of blueberries.  We pick pounds of them every summer and enjoy them throughout the year.  This is just one of the many ways to enjoy blueberries.  Although, I would love to make peach liqueur this summer.  I’m thinking lots of casual time with the neighbors and these wonderful drinks.

Blueberry Liqueur

  • 1 lb Blueberries
  • 3 C Vodka
  • 1 1/2 C Sugar
  • 3 C Water

Clean the blueberries, and place them in a large glass jar.  Add the vodka, cap tightly and shake.  Let sit in a cool dark place for about a month.  After a month, make a simple syrup with the water and sugar in a sauce pan.  Heat the water until the sugar has dissolved.  Add the water to the berries, cap tightly and shake.  Let sit in a cool dark place for 3 months, shaking every week or so.  Filter the mixture of the berries, transferring to another glass jar for storage.

I like to keep this in the freezer with my lemoncello.

9 comments

  1. This looks delicious!!! you are the busiest person, I know. You are always cooking something. You are a true inspiration!


    • Denise-
      Thanks for the kind words, but I’m sure that my sister will set you straight.
      Karen


  2. I think I need to visit you! Of course it would have to be an overnight, because if I partake in all the liquor you make I’d never make it home without getting a ticket!


    • Kathy-
      LOL of course you would have to spend overnight, I don’t condone drinking and driving but I do love a great care package! And if it wasn’t illegal to ship it…
      Karen


  3. I’m coming over for a overnight stay too! I need to tast all these delicious things that you cook 🙂


  4. oooh, I definitely need to make this – delicious!


  5. I think this is one of those recipes that will really impress future guests…so simple but I bet it’s absolutely delicious! Thank you for sharing. P.S. I {LOVE} lemoncello…


  6. […] Mom} and she was kind enough to share a recipe (super simple and it looks soooo good) on Blueberry Liqueur.  And, isn’t this what this great big blogosphere is for (the sharing)?  Did I just use […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

