h1

Refreshing

February 27, 2011

Did you know that pineapple is in season right now?

I didn’t until I read it in one of my magazines.    It’s actually my Everyday Food magazine.  My good friend Cathy got me a subscription for Christmas.  Isn’t that an awesom gift?  I’m not a fan of cookbooks, I think they are a waste of money (how many times have you bought a cookbook to use one recipe?), but food magazines are great.  Don’t be fooled by the Martha Stewart tag line either.  These are great recipes that involve normal ingredients and it’s a small magazine, so it doesn’t take up too much space.

The March addition of Everyday Food highlights one of my favorite fruits, the pineapple.  I love grilling it, making it into a smoothie, baking with it and just eating it.  This recipe let’s me enjoy the flavor in a drink.  A really great drink.

In the 90’s I drank a lot of Captain Morgan’s and Pepsi.  I love Captain Morgan’s Spiced Rum.  I always have it on hand.

Pineapple Ginger Rum

  • 1 Pineapple, peeled and cut
  • 1-inch piece of Ginger, peeled and sliced
  • 1 bottle (750 ml) Captain Morgan Spiced Rum, or your favorite rum

Combine the pineapple, ginger, and rum in a large glass jar with a lid.  Refrigerate for at least 1 to 2 weeks.  You can shake the jar each day until rum is flavored to taste, but that’s really not necessary.  Strain the rum and store in a glass container for up to 2 months.  Use the rum soaked pineapple as a drink garnish or on top of your ham this Easter, or just eat the pineapple.

Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

