h1

Something to Get the Morning Started

February 8, 2011

I have a confession to make.  I don’t make eggs.  There’s really not much I don’t make but eggs are definitely one of those things.  Until I was married I never liked eggs.   My husband, on the other hand, loves eggs. 

It’s because of his love for eggs that I started to eat them.  I love the way he makes omelets and what he calls cheesie eggs, which are scrambled eggs with various cheeses and maybe some veggies.  My husband makes some great eggs.  They are so good, I don’t even attempt to make them.  If we want eggs for breakfast, he makes them while I relax.

Maybe that’s the real reason I like his eggs!

This recipe is a great oven baked omelet.  Baking the omelet in the oven really helps to make it fluffy.  It’s really easy, you just need to make sure that you have an oven safe pan.  You can use this as a guide and add whatever you like to your omelet.  The possibilities are endless.

Onion and Sausage Omelet

  • 3 Eggs, beaten
  • 1/3 C milk
  • 1/4 t Salt
  • 1/2 t Pepper
  • 1/3 of a medium-sized Onion
  • 1/4 of a pound of bulk Breakfast Sausage
  • Butter for the pan
  • Sliced Cheese, Colby Jack or your favorite cheese.

In an oven safe saute pan, place butter and onion.  Saute until soft.  Add the sausage and continue to cook until brown.  Add the egg mixture and let set until the bottom is firm.  Place in 350 degree oven for about 3 minutes until the top is firm and not runny.  Remove from oven and add the cheese.  Fold the egg mixture in half over the cheese and place back in the oven for an additional 5 minutes.

Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

