h1

A Special Little Treat

February 6, 2011

There’s a football game today.  Actually it’s the Super Bowl, and that means lots of food.  We were planning a few treats while we watched the game but now I’m shifting that slightly.  Our neighbor called yesterday to invite us over and a few of things that I was making will be brought by their house to share.

Remember I said lots of food, right?

This is one of those treats that are perfect for a get together.  I like to think of this as man food.  Men love little sandwiches.  I’m not sure why, but they do.  This one is a recipe that was brought to my attention by my friend Kathy.   I know that she’s excited that Green Bay is in the Super Bowl this year.   I’m not sure if she’s making it today, but I do know that she’ll be cheering on her favorite team later. 

We actually had these sandwiches for dinner during the week with asparagus soup, so they are a quick appetizer or meal.  Meeshie loves Kings Hawaiian bread and ham.  I loved the flavor of the sauce.  Oh, and the smell is heavenly too.

Mini Ham Sammies

  • ½ pounds Sliced Ham
  • 5 slices Swiss Cheese
  • 1 package King’s Hawaiian Rolls
  • 1/4 C Melted Butter
  • ½ t Worcestershire Sauce
  • ½ t Dry Mustard
  • 1-½ t Dried Onion
  • 1 T Poppy Seed

The rolls will look like a large solid piece of bread. Leave the rolls intact and slice the loaf in half with a long knife to form a top layer and a bottom layer.

Place ham and cheese on bottom layer of rolls, then place top layer of rolls over ham and cheese and place on a cookie sheet. Mix remaining ingredients together and pour mixture over rolls.

Bake at 350F for 15-20 minutes.

Let them cool slightly before cutting.

Here’s the link to the original recipe.

3 comments

  1. Go Packers! These are not on the menu today. The fact that I’ve been fighting the flu this week has put a damper on our Super Bowl plans. My husband has stepped up to the plate and taken over the snack duties for today. I really love that man!

    These are delicious little sandwiches. They are great with turkey and provolone, or roast beef and cheddar. It’s the sauce and the Hawaiian rolls that make all the difference!


    • Kathy-
      I do hope you feel better soon. I can’t wait to try them with the variations you’ve suggested. I agree that it’s the rolls and the sauce that make these things so good.
      Karen


  2. […] Mini Ham Sammies […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

