h1

It’s a French Thing

January 27, 2011

I’m in a lunch rut.  Not for me.  I bring lots of great leftovers to work everyday.

My lunch rut has to do with Meeshie.  Her school offers hot lunch but I only let her get that once or twice a week.  That leaves me to think of something for her the other days.  That’s the problem.  All of my great lunch ideas involve the microwave and 3rd graders don’t have that option.  So every January I find myself in a lunch rut.  How many times can one person eat peanut butter and jelly or salami in a row?  A lot, I guess, but that doesn’t mean I have to enjoy making it.

I’m trying to think of new twists on the old classics.  So far I’ve been using crepes for the peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.

I love crepes.  They’re another versatile meal that can be eaten at breakfast, lunch, dinner, and dessert.  Plus you can have them hot or cold, therefore making them the perfect lunchtime meal for Meeshie.

Crepes are also pretty easy to make, once you get the hang of getting them into the pan and that usually takes one try.  They freeze well too and depending on the ingredients, you can make them sweet or savory.

Crepes

  • 4 Large Eggs
  • 1/4 C melted Butter
  • 1 C Flour
  • Salt, I use Kosher
  • 2 C Half and Half

Whisk the eggs together in a medium-sized mixing bowl.  Slowly add the melted butter and whisk until combined.  Stir in the flour and salt and stir until combined.  Slowly add the milk.  The batter should be runny.  Let the batter rest, and refrigerate for at least an hour.

Place a little butter in a nonstick pan and put over medium heat.  Ladle to crepe batter in the pan tilting while adding the batter to completely and evenly coat the bottom of the pan.  Once the edge of the crepe begins to pull away from the pan, after about 1 to 2 minutes, use a spatula to get under the crepe and use your fingers to turn it over.  The crepe should be golden brown.  Cook for another minute, remove from the pan and put it onto a plate.

This recipe makes about 12-16 crepes.

I love crepes with ham and asparagus with bechamel sauce.  Or with fresh strawberries and whipped cream.  Or Nutella and drizzle of chocolate sauce.  Or chicken, tomatoes, basil and a white wine sauce.  Or … sorry, I can go on and on.  The possibilities are endless.

Enjoy!

12 comments

  1. I’ll definitely be trying this soon…


  2. Wonderful!


  3. Oh, crepes! So wonderful… When I was in France I was shocked to find many restaurants were serving crepes with Nutella. Who knew? (And so yummy!)


    • Movita-
      Love Nutella on a crepe and I’m so jealous that you’ve been to France!
      Karen


  4. Aahhh…you also suffer the mid January lunch rut. Glad to see that I am not alone. We’ve mixed it up a bit by having a bagel in the lunch rather than a sandwich. The kids seem to love it…for now.


    • Kathy-
      Oh how I wish she would eat an untoasted bagel!! Sometimes I’ll just throw plain lunchmeat in a bag. She wants me to buy Lunchables but I just can’t. I’m looking forward to when she can use the microwave at school.
      Karen


      • Go ahead and toast it, just don’t put the cream cheese on it. Buy a little re-useable container to put the cream cheese in. Lunchables are one of the worst things to give our kids to eat! Don’t feel bad, I won’t/don’t buy them either.


      • Kathy-
        I’ll try it. We don’t do cream cheese on bagels, we like peanut butter and butter instead. Sometimes she likes them plain though.
        Karen


  5. Funny, I throw lunchmeat in a bag sometimes too! No bread. So boring. I used to make crepes w/ my mom and we would put grape jelly in them and sprinkle w/ powdered sugar. Simple, but yummy!


    • Carol-
      Everything about 3rd grade lunch is boring. Or maybe it’s just my rut. MMM grape jelly and powdered sugar on a crepe-so simple!
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

