h1

Clam Chowder

January 16, 2011

It’s pretty cold around here today.  A perfect day for soup.  Or chowder.  I love a good clam chowder.  This one has a great flavor.  My husband, who isn’t a clam chowder fan, likes this one.  I think it’s because I rinse the clams. 

I’m not a fan of a chowder that’s too fishy and sometimes canned clams can be just that.  But because they are rinsed, you don’t have that.  Plus the little bit of tabasco gives it a hint of heat.

I made this a few days ago and have been enjoying it for lunch almost every day.

You can enjoy this as a meal or pair it with a sandwich.

Clam Chowder

  • 6 slices Diced Bacon
  • 2 Medium Sized Carrots Thinly Sliced
  • 2 stalks Celery, Thinly Sliced
  • 1 Small Onion Chopped
  • ½ Small Green Pepper Chopped
  • 1 clove Garlic, Minced
  • 3 T Flour
  • 1-½ pound Thin Skinned Potatoes
  • 2 – 8 Oz. Bottles Clam Juice
  • 8 – 6.5 Oz. Cans Clams (chopped and whole-I use half of each), rinsed and drained
  • 1 C Chicken broth
  • 1 whole Bay Leaf
  • ½ t Tabasco
  • ¼ t Fresh Ground Black Pepper
  • 1-½ t Worcestershire Sauce
  • ¾ t Dried Thyme
  • 3 C Half and Half
  • In a stock pot, cook bacon over medium heat until crisp. Remove from the pan, drain and set aside. Discard all but 3 T of the drippings. Add carrots, celery, onion, green pepper, and garlic to the drippings and cook, stirring often until soft .  Add the flour to make a roux, cooking for another 5 minutes.  Cut potatoes into 1/2″ cubes. Add to vegetable mix along with the clam juice, chicken broth and the bay leaf. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, cover and simmer until potatoes are tender, about 15 minutes.  Stir in the clams, tabasco, pepper, Worcestershire, thyme, half and half and bacon. Heat until steaming over med. low heat. Season to taste with salt.

    3 comments

    1. I made Gooey Butter Cake from Tidy Mom blog yesterday. It was so good. Have you ever made that before? If not, you must try!
      Have a great week.
      Denise


      • Denise-
        I have! I make the pumpkin one around Thanksgiving.
        Karen


    2. That sounds good, I’m not a fan of pumpking pie, but I think I would like that. We thought about making it like a lemon flavor too. I don’t know how it would be, but its worth the try!



    Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

