h1

Busia’s Raisin Bread

January 6, 2011

When I was a girl, my mother made this bread.  It was a recipe that she got from her mother.

I have been asking my mom for the recipe for quite a while and this summer she finally found it. 

I had trouble making the bread.  First, I couldn’t find cake yeast at the store.  I kept looking in the wrong place for the yeast.  Then, when I set out to make the bread around Thanksgiving, it didn’t turn out.  There is a step in the original recipe that didn’t make sence and didn’t work.  I called my mom to verify the step, and she did, and then I promptly skipped it once I tried to make it again.

The original recipe states to dissolve the cake yeast in 1/4 C warm water and 1 1/2 C flour.  My mom told me that the mixture was soupy and to set it aside over night.  What I had was a stiff ball of flour that did not rise.

Raisin Bread

  • 2 C Milk
  • 1/2 C Butter, melted
  • 1/4 C Sugar
  • 1-2 oz pkg Cake Yeast
  • 2 Eggs, beaten
  • 1 t Salt
  • 1/2 t Vanilla
  • 7-8 C Flour
  • 2 C Raisins, soaked in warm water for at least 20 minutes

Combine the milk, sugar and butter in a sauce pan.  Scald the milk mixture.  Set aside for about 40 minutes.  Add the crumbled cake yeast.  Let set for a minute.  You’ll see the yeast reacting to the scalded milk.  Add the eggs, salt and vanilla.  Slowly add the flour as you may not use all of it.  You’ll know to stop adding the flour once the dough starts to leave your hands.  Add the raisins and remove the dough from the pan.  Knead the dough until smooth, about 10 minutes.

Place the dough in a well greased glass bowl and cover with a damp towel.  Place in a warm place and let rise for 2 hours.  Remove the dough from the bowl, punch down and knead the dough again.  Separate the dough and place it into well greased loaf pans.  Cover and let rise again for an hour.

You can also take the dough and roll it out on floured surface.  Melt 2T of butter and spread it on the dough.  Sprinkle some sugar and cinnamon on the dough.  Roll the dough length wise making sure to pinch to seal the dough.  Place the seal side down in a greased pan.

Dust the top of the bread with some melted butter, sugar and cinnamon. 

Bake in a preheated 375 degrees oven for 30-35 minutes.

Either way this is a tasty, dense raisin bread.

The dough makes about 4 medium-sized loaves or 2 large loaves.

Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

