h1

Blueberry Almond Pound Cake Panini

January 4, 2011

Okay, I confess.  The reason for the 7 Up Pound Cake was this tasty treat.  I made it for breakfast but you could easily have it as a dessert.  I love the flavor of the almonds with the blueberry cream mixture and the toastiness of the pound cake. 

This recipe inspired me.  Heat Oven to 350 has some really great recipes.  I saw this recipe for ricotta strawberry panini and wanted to make it.  Unfortunately I didn’t have any strawberries or ricotta cheese.  I did have blueberries from the blueberry farm and cream cheese. 

Blueberry Almond Pound Cake Panini

  • 8 oz Cream Cheese, softened
  • 1 T Vanilla
  • 2 t Cinnamon
  • 1 loaf 7 Up Pound Cake, or your favorite pound cake
  • ½ pounds Fresh Blueberries
  • Butter, softened

In a small bowl, combine cream cheese, vanilla and cinnamon.   Slice pound cake into 1/2 inch pieces. Heat a panini maker and butter one side of each piece of pound cake. Spoon 2 tablespoons of cream cheese mixture onto a slice of pound cake, top with 1-2 tablespoons blueberries and top with another piece of pound cake, butter side out.  Place sandwiches on panini maker lined with parchment paper.  Cover sandwiches with additional parchment paper and let cook until the outside of the pound cake is golden brown and the sandwich is hot through, about 6 minutes. Remove from the panini pan and serve immediately.

Makes 6 paninis depending on your loaf size.

2 comments

  1. Yum! That looks delicious. The 7-up pound cake looks like a great choice with it, too. I bought blueberries the other day so I’m thinking this will go on the menu for later this week. Thanks for sharing it!


    • Nicole-
      Thank you for inspiring me! We blueberry pick every July and I have a freezer full of fresh picked blueberries. Hope you enjoy!
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

