h1

Almond Raspberry Thumbprints

December 21, 2010

Here’s another cookie recipe.

I participated in a cookie exchange last week.  Cookie exchanges are so much fun.  I love trying new cookies. 

This is not the cookie I made for the exchange.  I had to make too many cookies for the exchange (7 dozen) so I made my shortbread cookies.  I would have made these if I didn’t have to make so many.

It is a cookie that I make every year for Christmas.  Sometimes I drizzle some chocolate over the cookie along with the glaze.  It’s a great cookie that’s so easy to make.  You don’t have to make it with raspberry jam, but I really like raspberry. 

Almond Raspberry Thumbprints

  • 1 C Butter
  • 2/3 C Sugar
  • 1 t Almond Extract
  • 2 C Flour
  • 1/2 C Raspberry (or your favorite) jam
  • Glaze
  • 1 C Powdered Sugar
  • 2-3 t Milk
  • 1 t Vanilla Extract

Combine the butter, sugar and almond extract together in a bowl.  Beat at medium speed until creamy.  Reduce the speed and add the flour.  Beat, scraping the bowl often, until mixed well.  Cover and refrigerate for at least an hour.

Shape dough into 1-inch balls.  Place them 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Make an indentation in the center of each cookie (the edges will crack slightly).  Fill the indentation with the jam, about 1/4 t per cookie.

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 14-18 minutes or until the edges are lightly brown.  Let stand for about one minute before transferring to a cooling rack to cool completely.

Combine the ingredients together to make the glaze, whisking until smooth.  Drizzle the glaze over the cooled cookies.

Makes about 3 1/2 dozen cookies.

2 comments

  1. Wow these almond raspberry thumbprints look so delicious. I definitely need to try this 🙂



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

