h1

The Egg Nog

December 19, 2010

I found this recipe for egg nog a number of years ago.  I’ve made it on and off for Christmas Eve ever since.  When I don’t make it, my family looks for it. 

This recipe makes a large amount of egg nog that is perfect for a large gathering.

When I was a girl, my mother made an egg nog with rum and whiskey in it.  It was a thinner egg nog than this recipe.  This one is like ice cream.  A really tasty ice cream.  This year I plan to set some aside for the children to enjoy.  I’ll adjust the amount of Southern Comfort to the rest of the nog.  I also adjust the amount of milk because we only drink skim milk.  I may use half and half or I may double the heavy cream.  I’ve done it both ways and you can’t tell the difference. 

Egg nog is rich and there is no reason to be concerned with calories.

Egg Nog

  • 6 Eggs, separated
  • 3/4 C Sugar
  • 1 pint Heavy Cream
  • 4 pints milk
  • 1/2 pint Southern Comfort
  • 1 T Vanilla
  • 1 T Nutmeg
  • 1 T Cinnamon
  • 1 t Ground Cloves

In a bowl beat the egg yolks with the 1/2 cup of sugar until thick. In another bowl beat the egg whites with 1/4 cup of sugar until thick. In a third bowl beat the cream until thick. Add the cream to the yolks, fold in the egg whites, and add the milk, Southern Comfort, vanilla,  nutmeg, cinnamon, and cloves. Stick in the freezer for at least 2 hours before serving.

Serve in a large punch bowl.

You can substitute the Southern Comfort with spiced rum or set some of the egg nog aside before you add the liquor for those that don’t like or want liquor in their egg nog. 

It’s a variation of Paula Deen’s.  I’ve tweaked throughout the years and we love this one.

I’ve never worried about the raw egg factor.  I’ve always felt the alcohol kills any of the bacteria that may be there.  But then I grew up in an era where you never concerned your self about salmonella and I still eat raw cookie dough.

Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

