h1

Do You Fondue?

December 15, 2010

The year that Meeshie was born my husband bought me the best gift for Christmas.  He gave me two electric fondue pots.  My only problem with them is that I don’t have a third one.  Every time we make fondue I wish I had a third pot and then I forget about my wish until next time.

Do you love fondue?  Have you ever had fondue?  When I was a girl, my mother made fondue for Christmas Eve.  I loved it.  I loved making my own food and so did my brothers and sister.  Back then we had the old orange pots that sat on top of the sterno.  Not the most efficient thing in the world, but I didn’t care.  I was making my own food.

Now I have these great electric pots which are great for a few reasons.  One, you don’t have to cook anything on the stove and transfer it to the fondue pot.  Two, everything stays as hot as you want.  Three, less things for me to clean at the end of the night.

Beef Broth Fondue

  • 5 cups Beef Broth (two 14-ounce Cans Of Beef Broth And 1 Can Of Water)
  • ⅓ cups Soy Sauce
  • 2 Tablespoons Brown Sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon Balsamic Vinegar
  • 1 Tablespoon Sherry
  • 2 whole Garlic Cloves, Minced
  • Beef Tenderloin
  • Mushrooms

 Add the garlic to the electric fondue pot. Add the beef broth. Combine the soy sauce, sugar, vinegar and sherry. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes.

You can marinate the beef tenderloin in your favorite marinade for about an hour before you cook it.

Spear the beef strips and mushrooms in the broth for about 3 to 5 minutes.

You can also serve the fondue with tater tots, veggies, bread and cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

  • 2 whole Garlic Cloves, Minced
  • 1 cup White Wine
  • 2 Tablespoons Flour, Divided
  • ½ pounds Shredded Swiss Cheese, Jarlsberg
  • ½ pounds Shredded Gruyère Or Emmentaler Cheese
  • ¼ teaspoons Salt
  • ¼ teaspoons Nutmeg
  • French Bread, Cubed
  • Apples, sliced
  • Various Vegetables, Choped

Add garlic to an electric fondue pot. Add wine. Toss each cheese with a tablespoon of flour. Slowly add the cheese 1/4 pound at a time, alternating the cheese. Stir the cheese until melted before adding more cheese. When the cheese is melted, add the salt and nutmeg. Let simmer for about 20 minutes.

Serve with bread, apples and veggies.

This is our traditional New Year’s Eve meal.  I’ve made it for Valentine’s Day, too.  This is the perfect meal for entertaining or a holiday.

4 comments

  1. I love fondue… and now it’s the best season to do it. I can’t wait to pull out my fondue pot and try the beef broth fondue 🙂


    • Tes-
      Isn’t fondue the best? Enjoy!
      Karen


  2. […] this activity, I’m glad that we keep our New Year’s quiet.  It’s all about the fondue in our house.  We’ve never made it to midnight, but that’s okay.  New Year’s […]


  3. […] fondue at our house.  We have it every New Year’s Eve.  But, I must confess that we stick to beef broth or cheese fondue.  The girls wanted […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

