h1

Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies

December 12, 2010

I bought Nutella for the first time over the Thanksgiving break.

I saw a pizza made with it that I really want to make, and haven’t yet, so I thought I’d give it a try.  I love it.  I’ve made sandwiches with it.  I’ve made crepes.  And now I’ve made this awesome cookie.  The original recipe is from Giada De Laurentis.  I’ve tweaked and it’s really easy and tasty.

Have you ever had Nutella?  It’s not like peanut butter.  Although you can make sandwiches with it just like peanut butter.  It has a distinct hazelnut flavor that either your going to love or not.  These cookies really showcase that flavor.

And since I’m still baking I thought I would share another cookie recipe.

Chocolate Hazelnut Cookies

  • 1 3/4 C Flour
  • 1 t Baking Soda
  • 1/2 t Salt
  • 1 T Cocoa ( I used the Ghirardelli Chocolate Hazelnut flavored cocoa)
  • 1 C Nutella
  • 1/2 C Butter, softened
  • 1/2 C Sugar
  • 1/2 C Brown Sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 t Vanilla
  • Crushed nuts for garnish (I used pecans because that’s what I had on hand)
  • For the Glaze
  • 1/4 C Nutella
  • 1 t Shortening

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, salt, and cocoa.  Set aside.

In another bowl, add the Nutella, butter and sugars and cream together for about three minutes.  Add the egg and vanilla and blend until incorporated.  Stir in the dry ingredients until just incorporated.

On a cookie tray lined with parchment paper, roll the dough into walnut-sized balls, place about 4 inches apart and garnish with a small amount of nuts.  Bake for 6-8 minutes in a preheated 375 degree oven.

While cooling, prepare the glaze.  Add the Nutella and shortening to a microwave safe bowl.  Heat slowly until the shortening has dissolved and the mixture is runny.

Drizzle the glaze over the cooled cookies.

Makes about 3 1/2 cookies

4 comments

  1. Mmm, these look and sound delicious!


  2. Hi Karen,

    I just saw your chocolate hazelnut cookies and can’t wait to try them. I have a container of nutella left over from a campfire dessert I made. Can’t wait to bake them. Have a nice new years!
    Lisa


    • Lisa-
      Happy New Year to you too! I hope you enjoy the cookies as much as we do.
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

