h1

SANTA! OH MY GOD! SANTA’S COMING! I KNOW HIM! I KNOW HIM!

December 4, 2010

The snow kept me close to home this weekend.  I was planning to travel to Madison Wisconsin to see my friend Angel today but the snow came early this morning and never let up. 

We moved on to plan B.

We went to see Santa.  The big man. The head honcho. The connection.

We take the train into Chicago every year and see the Santa at Daley Plaza.  You have to wait outside but it’s worth the wait.  I love the fact that it’s warm in cozy in his little house.  I love that they never push you out too quickly.  I also love that I can take as many pictures as I want.

Santa has thrown me under the bus on occasion, case in point that horrible girl gourmet cupcake maker two years ago, but he’s a busy guy and that’s okay.

I remember the first time that I went downtown to see the Christmas decorations.  My kindergarten class went to see the windows at Marshall Field’s.  My first field trip.  My first trip in an elevator.  I still don’t like elevators.  I work on the 5th floor and walk up and down every day instead riding in one.

Marshall Field’s had the best Christmas windows.  Truly.  Even as I got older, I still enjoyed the wonder of those windows every year.

Macy’s is there now and it just isn’t the same.   They promised to keep up the window tradition, but I don’t think they are using the same designer.   We saw the few windows today and I think it’s our last year doing it. 

Daley Plaza has a wonder Christmasfest though.  It’s called Christkindlmarket.  Lots of venders and great food bratwurst, potato pancakes, mulled wine, hot chocolate.  You get the idea. 

Here she is waiting patiently for Santa.  We were first in line.  Yeah!

Meeshie was so nervous this year that she only asked for one thing, an iPod touch.  I hope Santa has enough room on the sleigh for that.

My two favorite people in front the tree.  The tree was huge this year.  A family donated it.  You gotta love the city that works.

While we are downtown, we also make our annual trip to Garrett’s.  I introduced my husband to their popcorn a few years ago.  He’s addicted to it, so the annual trip is his only ration. Which isn’t a bad thing.  We could it eat morning, noon and night. It’s the best popcorn ever. 

A beautiful snow fall, a train trip downtown, visit to Santa and Garrett’s.  Not a bad day.  Not the day I had planned but I’m not complaining.

Merry Christmas.

2 comments

  1. Sounds like you had a great day! I was looking forward to our possibly meeting…finally. I guess I will have to wait. Sigh.

    Megan goes to Christkindlmarket every year with her German class! She wasn’t able to go this year because she was in a play…needless to say, she was bummed. Last year she bought me some really pretty earrings there.


    • Kathy-
      Me too! Next time the weather won’t hold me back. I’ll bet the play was way more fun than the market!
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

