h1

Oh My Pot Pie

November 30, 2010

We love pot pie.  Especially chicken pot pie.

When I talked to my younger brother on Thanksgiving he told me that he would be more interested in the holiday if people didn’t serve turkey.  I agree.  I love the holiday and everything that goes with it except for turkey.  I’m actually not a fan of ham either.    Meeshie doesn’t like  turkey either.  

How can we both like chicken but not turkey?  I really can’t answer that.

But I do like pot pie and I made one with the leftover turkey.  I’ll be making turkey and dumplings with the leftovers too.  Oh and hot brown.  Love a good hot brown.

Pot pie is so good.  So simple.  Such a great comfort food.

Pot Pie

  • 2 Pie Crusts
  • 1 lb cooked Chicken or Turkey meat, cubed or shredded ( a mix of white and dark meat)
  • 1/4 C Butter
  • 1 medium Onion, diced
  • 2 Carrots, diced
  • 2-3 Celery stalks, diced
  • 1 C Frozen Peas
  • 1/4 C Flour
  • 2 C Chicken Broth
  • 1 C Half and Half
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Melt the butter in a large skillet.  Add the onion, carrots, and celery, saute until tender.  Stir in flour and cook for one minute.  Slowly add the broth.  Add salt and pepper, chicken or turkey, and peas.  Bring to a slow boil to thicken.  Pour in the half and half.  Taste the mixture to adjust seasoning. 

Center one of the pie crusts on a lightly greased 9″ pie plate.  Add the pot pie mixture evenly over crust.  Cover with the second pie crust, pinching the ends to seal and cut vents in the top of the crust.

Place on a preheated cookie sheet.  (This will insure that the bottom crust browns.)

Bake in a 425 degrees oven for 20 minutes.  Cover the edge of the pie with aluminum foil and bake an additional 10-15 minutes.

Let sit for 5 minutes before serving.

I actually added some broccoli to this dish because it was leftover from Thanksgiving.  I’ve added mushrooms to pot pie before too.

2 comments

  1. Oh my god this pot pie looks so homey and comforting. My family will love this.
    Thanks for sharing 🙂


    • Tes-
      Thanks! I hope you enjoy it.
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

