h1

Lettuce Chicken Wraps

November 26, 2010

I don’t know about you, but I’m exhausted. 

I was supposed to be doing so many things today and instead I went to see Tangled with Meeshie.  I need to put away the Thanksgiving decorations and put up the Christmas ones.  But that’s not going to happen today.  Today I’m taking it easy. 

We have a ton of leftovers in the fridge that I may get to.  I’m still pretty full from yesterday.

I did make this wonderful dish for dinner the night before Thanksgiving.

Have you ever eaten at P F Changs?  Meeshie doesn’t like it.  I think it’s the atmosphere.  We love the lettuce wraps there and I’ve been trying to find a recipe so that I could make that dish at home.

I think I found it.  Meeshie told me this was one of the best dishes I’ve made and my husband has requested this in our weekly rotation.

It’s pretty easy to make.  It just looks daunting because there are so many ingredients and quite a few steps.  Once you’ve started the process, though it moves along very quickly.

It’s totally worth it in the end.  Trust me.

Lettuce Chicken Wraps

  • 8 Shiitake Mushrooms. minced (if you use the dried ones, cover them with boiling water and let stand for 30 minutes.  Drain, trim and mince.)
  • 1 T Hoisin sauce
  • 1 T Soy sauce
  • 1 T  plus 2 t Dry Sherry, divided
  • 2 T Oyster sauce
  • 2 T plus 2 t Water, divided
  • 1 t Oil (I used Olive because that’s what I had.  You can use Sesame)
  • 1 t Sugar
  • 3 t Cornstarch, divided
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste
  • 1 1/2 lb Ground Chicken
  • 1/3 C Vegetable oil, divided
  • 1 t fresh Ginger, minced
  • 2 cloves Garlic, minced
  • 2 Green Onion, diced
  • 1-8 oz can Water Chestnuts, drained and minced
  • 1 Head Bibb Lettuce, leaves separated, rinsed and drained
  • Dipping Sauce
  • 1/2 C Water
  • 1/4 C Sugar
  • 2 T Soy sauce
  • 2 T Cider Vinegar
  • 2 T Ketchup
  • 1 T Lemon juice
  • 1 t Yellow Mustard
  • 1/8 t Oil (again I used Olive Oil)

Prepare the mushrooms.  I used fresh shiitake but if you can’t find fresh, use the dried and prep them.  Combine the Hoisin sauce, soy sauce, 1 T Sherry, oyster sauce, 2 T water, oil, sugar and 2 t cornstarch in a bowl.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine 1 t cornstarch, 2 t Sherry, 2 t water, salt and pepper, and 1 t vegetable oil.  Place chicken in the bowl making sure to coat it thoroughly.  Let stand for 15 minutes.

While the chicken is marinating, prep the vegetables and the dipping sauce.

Heat the wok or large skillet over medium-high heat.  Stir-fry the chicken in 3 T vegetable oil for 3-4 minutes.  Remove from the pan and set aside.

Heat 2 T of vegetable oil in the same pan and add the ginger, garlic, and onions.  Stir-fry for 1 minute.  Add the mushrooms and water chestnuts.  Stir-fry for 2 minutes.  Return the chicken to the pan and pour the reserved sauce made with the Hoisin sauce.  Simmer until thickened and heated through.  Spoon the mixture into the prepared lettuce leaves, rolling them up like a burrito.  Spoon the dipping sauce over the wraps.

You can also add chili paste to the sauce if you like things spicy.  My husband loves it with the chili paste.

This recipe easily serves 6 very hungry people.

3 comments

  1. That look really delicious. I made lettuce wraped recipe often but this one looks so flavourful.
    Thanks for sharing!


  2. […] Blueberry Bread N is for Noodles, Garlic Butter Noodles August 25, 2011 We love lettuce wraps and I’ve been waiting to try a side for the wraps.  Since I make the wraps at least once a […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

